Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

10
  • That's a great advice. Although I have personally met many professors during conferences, I fear they might ignore my email due to their busy schedules.
    – codebpr
    Commented Feb 11 at 16:41
  • 1
    @codebpr They may also just not remember your name. Commented Feb 11 at 19:22
  • 5
    I don't agree with this (though I don't think this deserve a downvote). I happen to have sent such an email in the past to a professor that I barely met at a conference a few years before, explaining my motivation to join his research group. He replied that, unfortunately, there was no open position yet, but that external fundings existed and strongly recommended me for these applications. He also sent my profile to one of his collegues who later opened a position. I ended up joining the team
    – Didier
    Commented Feb 11 at 20:06
  • 1
    @Didier, your experience gives me hope. It definitely depends on the Professor, not all are same, for sure. Some of them are really benevolent, like you said. Same thing happens to me when I email an author regarding some doubt related to his/her paper. Some are kind enough to give the details and some turn a blind eye to it.
    – codebpr
    Commented Feb 11 at 20:14
  • 1
    @JackAidley I get your point and I quite agree with you. But I am very unsure that this professor even remembered me, one a the numerous PhD students at that conference. If it had any impact, I would say that it was the fact that I could start my email with "We met a few years back at [...]".
    – Didier
    Commented Feb 12 at 10:39