Skip to main content
deleted 3 characters in body
Source Link
user438383
  • 3.2k
  • 2
  • 18
  • 25

I am from a poor Asian country and I completed my masters in math in July 2020. I really wanted to do a PhD in mathematics outside my home country as in my country there is too much politics and discrimination and quality of research is low. So, I prepared for 2 years (except a period of 6 months during which depression kept me from studying) reading many extra courses. I didn't worked for much time during these years. In 2022 I was admitted to a 1 year masters program with scholarship (but no PhD program) in a European country X. Due to medical issues( depression came back, severe accommodation issues)I failed the master degree. I had to submit a lot of documents to get the visa and arrived in the host country late after classes had started.

I again tried to get admission for a 1 years masters and got accepted, this time without funding in the same European country. I enquiredinquired if the language of instruction is English and they assured me it is. On day one of classes I came to know that the language is not English though, but the official language of that nation. I have learnt that language but not up to B2 level, so I had to translate a lot and refer to a lot of books for reference in English. Due to this my speed of learning became slow and I dropped out in December of last year as I wasn't confident enough to pass the course.

I am thinking of applying to masters degree in Europe again in some other nation ( MathematicsMathematics 2 year masters). I am stressed about my future because I don't have much work experience( some part time teaching, some restrauntrestaurant work, some online form fillings and user testing) and not passing the course will be regarded badly in my country.

Is going back to Europe to get a masters degree funded by my family a good idea?Given that I am 26 years old or am I chasing an obsession?

Is going back to Europe to get a masters degree funded by my family a good idea?Given that I am 26 years old or am I chasing an obsession?

**I don't have much guidenceguidance in real life unfortunately and career counsillorscouncilors are not available in my country. **

I am from a poor Asian country and I completed my masters in math in July 2020. I really wanted to do a PhD in mathematics outside my home country as in my country there is too much politics and discrimination and quality of research is low. So, I prepared for 2 years (except a period of 6 months during which depression kept me from studying) reading many extra courses. I didn't worked for much time during these years. In 2022 I was admitted to a 1 year masters program with scholarship (but no PhD program) in a European country X. Due to medical issues( depression came back, severe accommodation issues)I failed the master degree. I had to submit a lot of documents to get the visa and arrived in the host country late after classes had started.

I again tried to get admission for a 1 years masters and got accepted, this time without funding in the same European country. I enquired if the language of instruction is English and they assured me it is. On day one of classes I came to know that the language is not English though, but the official language of that nation. I have learnt that language but not up to B2 level, so I had to translate a lot and refer to a lot of books for reference in English. Due to this my speed of learning became slow and I dropped out in December of last year as I wasn't confident enough to pass the course.

I am thinking of applying to masters degree in Europe again in some other nation ( Mathematics 2 year masters). I am stressed about my future because I don't have much work experience( some part time teaching, some restraunt work, some online form fillings and user testing) and not passing the course will be regarded badly in my country.

Is going back to Europe to get a masters degree funded by my family a good idea?Given that I am 26 years old or am I chasing an obsession?

**I don't have much guidence in real life unfortunately and career counsillors are not available in my country. **

I am from a poor Asian country and I completed my masters in math in July 2020. I really wanted to do a PhD in mathematics outside my home country as in my country there is too much politics and discrimination and quality of research is low. So, I prepared for 2 years (except a period of 6 months during which depression kept me from studying) reading many extra courses. I didn't worked for much time during these years. In 2022 I was admitted to a 1 year masters program with scholarship (but no PhD program) in a European country X. Due to medical issues( depression came back, severe accommodation issues)I failed the master degree. I had to submit a lot of documents to get the visa and arrived in the host country late after classes had started.

I again tried to get admission for a 1 years masters and got accepted, this time without funding in the same European country. I inquired if the language of instruction is English and they assured me it is. On day one of classes I came to know that the language is not English though, but the official language of that nation. I have learnt that language but not up to B2 level, so I had to translate a lot and refer to a lot of books for reference in English. Due to this my speed of learning became slow and I dropped out in December of last year as I wasn't confident enough to pass the course.

I am thinking of applying to masters degree in Europe again in some other nation (Mathematics 2 year masters). I am stressed about my future because I don't have much work experience( some part time teaching, some restaurant work, some online form fillings and user testing) and not passing the course will be regarded badly in my country.

Is going back to Europe to get a masters degree funded by my family a good idea?Given that I am 26 years old or am I chasing an obsession?

**I don't have much guidance in real life unfortunately and career councilors are not available in my country. **

added 53 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Nir
  • 19
  • 4

Am I chasing an obsession or should I apply 3rd time to complete my 2nd masters in Pure MathMathematics?

I am from a poor Asian country and I completed my masters in math in July 2020. I really wanted to do a PhD in mathematics outside my home country as in my country there is too much politics and discrimination and quality of research is low. So, I prepared for 2 years (except a period of 6 months during which depression kept me from studying) reading many extra courses. I didn't worked for much time during these years.

In In 2022 I was admitted to a 1 year masters program with scholarship (but no PhD program) in a European country X. Due to medical issues( depression came back, severe accommodation issues)I failed the master degree. I had to submit a lot of documents to get the visa and arrived in the host country late after classes had started.

I again tried to get admission for a 1 years masters and got accepted, this time without funding in the same European country. I enquired if the language of instruction is English and they assured me it is. On day one of classes I came to know that the language is not English though, but the official language of that nation. I have learnt that language but not up to B2 level, so I had to translate a lot and refer to a lot of books for reference in English. Due to this my speed of learning became slow and I dropped out onin December 8th of last year as I wasn't confident enough to pass the course.

I am thinking of going back to country Xapplying to work part time job and apply again for samemasters degree next yearin Europe again in some other nation ( Pure Math 1 Mathematics 2 year masters). I am stressed about my future because I don't have nomuch work experience( some part time teaching, some restraunt work, some online form fillings and user testing) and not passing the course will be regarded badly in my country.

Is going back to Europe to get a masters degree onfunded by my parents moneyfamily a good idea?Given that I don't have a job experience and I am 26 years old or am I chasing an obsession?

I don't have much guidence in real life unfortunately and career counsillors are not available in my country. **I don't have much guidence in real life unfortunately and career counsillors are not available in my country. **

Am I chasing an obsession or should I apply 3rd time to complete my 2nd masters in Pure Math?

I am from a poor Asian country and I completed my masters in math in July 2020. I really wanted to do a PhD in mathematics outside my home country as in my country there is too much politics and discrimination and quality of research is low. So, I prepared for 2 years (except a period of 6 months during which depression kept me from studying) reading many extra courses. I didn't worked during these years.

In 2022 I was admitted to a 1 year masters program with scholarship (but no PhD program) in a European country X. Due to medical issues( depression came back, severe accommodation issues)I failed the master degree. I had to submit a lot of documents to get the visa and arrived in the host country late after classes had started.

I again tried to get admission for a 1 years masters and got accepted, this time without funding in the same European country. I enquired if the language of instruction is English and they assured me it is. On day one of classes I came to know that the language is not English though, but the official language of that nation. I have learnt that language but not up to B2 level, so I had to translate a lot and refer to a lot of books for reference in English. Due to this my speed of learning became slow and I dropped out on December 8th of last year as I wasn't confident enough to pass the course.

I am thinking of going back to country X to work part time job and apply again for same degree next year ( Pure Math 1 year masters). I am stressed about my future because I have no work experience and not passing the course will be regarded badly in my country.

Is going back to Europe to get a masters degree on my parents money a good idea?Given that I don't have a job experience and I am 26 years old or am I chasing an obsession?

I don't have much guidence in real life unfortunately and career counsillors are not available in my country.

Am I chasing an obsession or should I apply 3rd time to complete my 2nd masters in Mathematics?

I am from a poor Asian country and I completed my masters in math in July 2020. I really wanted to do a PhD in mathematics outside my home country as in my country there is too much politics and discrimination and quality of research is low. So, I prepared for 2 years (except a period of 6 months during which depression kept me from studying) reading many extra courses. I didn't worked for much time during these years. In 2022 I was admitted to a 1 year masters program with scholarship (but no PhD program) in a European country X. Due to medical issues( depression came back, severe accommodation issues)I failed the master degree. I had to submit a lot of documents to get the visa and arrived in the host country late after classes had started.

I again tried to get admission for a 1 years masters and got accepted, this time without funding in the same European country. I enquired if the language of instruction is English and they assured me it is. On day one of classes I came to know that the language is not English though, but the official language of that nation. I have learnt that language but not up to B2 level, so I had to translate a lot and refer to a lot of books for reference in English. Due to this my speed of learning became slow and I dropped out in December of last year as I wasn't confident enough to pass the course.

I am thinking of applying to masters degree in Europe again in some other nation ( Mathematics 2 year masters). I am stressed about my future because I don't have much work experience( some part time teaching, some restraunt work, some online form fillings and user testing) and not passing the course will be regarded badly in my country.

Is going back to Europe to get a masters degree funded by my family a good idea?Given that I am 26 years old or am I chasing an obsession?

**I don't have much guidence in real life unfortunately and career counsillors are not available in my country. **

Left closed in review as "Original close reason(s) were not resolved" by The Doctor, Ian, Sursula
I have improved what I want to ask . Please reopen this question.
Added to review
Source Link
Nir
  • 19
  • 4

Should Am I chasing an obsession or should I apply 3 rd3rd time forto complete my 2nd masters in Pure Math?

I am from a poor Asian country and I completed my masters in math in July 2020. I really wanted to do a PhD in mathematics from Europeoutside my home country as in my country there is too much politics and discrimination and quality of research is low. So, I prepared for 2 years (except a period of 6 months during which depression kept me from studying) reading many extra courses. I didn't worked during these years.

In 2022 I was admitted to a 1 year masters program with scholarship (but no PhD program) in a European country X. Due to medical issues I( depression came back, severe accommodation issues)I failed the master degree. I had to submit a lot of documents to get the visa and arrived in the host country 1 weeklate after classes had started.

I again tried to get admission for a 1 years masters and got accepted, this time without funding in the same European country. I enquired if the language of instruction is English and they assured me it is. On day one of classes I came to know that the language is not English though, but the official language of that nation. I have learnt that language but not up to B2 level, so I had to translate a lot and refer to a lot of books for reference in English. Due to this my speed of learning became slow and I dropped out on December 8th of last year as I wasn't confident enough to pass the course. I went back to my home country on December 20. Although I have not officially dropped out of the course but I have left my accommodation.

I am thinking of going back to country X to work part time job and apply again for somesame degree next year (not necessarily Pure Math 1 year masters). I am stressed about my future because I have no work experience and not having a degreepassing the course will be regarded badly in my country.

Is going back to Europe to get a masters degree on my parents money a good idea?Given that I don't have a job experience and I am 26 years old or am I chasing an obsession?

Is going back to Europe to get a masters degree on my parents money in some other subject a good idea? Given that I don't have a job experience and I am 26 years old. I feel a deep guilt for failing to finish my masters degree twice and taking 2 years after 2020 to get into a program.I don't have much guidence in real life unfortunately and career counsillors are not available in my country.

Should I apply 3 rd time for masters?

I am from a poor Asian country and I completed my masters in math in July 2020. I really wanted to do a PhD in mathematics from Europe. So, I prepared for 2 years (except a period of 6 months during which depression kept me from studying) reading many extra courses. I didn't worked during these years.

In 2022 I was admitted to a 1 year masters program with scholarship (but no PhD program) in a European country X. Due to medical issues I failed the master degree. I had to submit a lot of documents to get the visa and arrived in the host country 1 week after classes had started.

I again tried to get admission for a 1 years masters and got accepted, this time without funding. I enquired if the language of instruction is English and they assured me it is. On day one of classes I came to know that the language is not English though, but the official language of that nation. I have learnt that language but not up to B2 level, so I had to translate a lot and refer to a lot of books for reference in English. Due to this my speed of learning became slow and I dropped out on December 8th as I wasn't confident enough to pass the course. I went back to my home country on December 20. Although I have not officially dropped out of the course but I have left my accommodation.

I am thinking of going back to country X to work part time job and apply again for some degree next year (not necessarily Pure Math). I am stressed about my future because I have no work experience and not having a degree will be regarded badly in my country.

Is going back to Europe to get a masters degree on my parents money in some other subject a good idea? Given that I don't have a job experience and I am 26 years old. I feel a deep guilt for failing to finish my masters degree twice and taking 2 years after 2020 to get into a program.

Am I chasing an obsession or should I apply 3rd time to complete my 2nd masters in Pure Math?

I am from a poor Asian country and I completed my masters in math in July 2020. I really wanted to do a PhD in mathematics outside my home country as in my country there is too much politics and discrimination and quality of research is low. So, I prepared for 2 years (except a period of 6 months during which depression kept me from studying) reading many extra courses. I didn't worked during these years.

In 2022 I was admitted to a 1 year masters program with scholarship (but no PhD program) in a European country X. Due to medical issues( depression came back, severe accommodation issues)I failed the master degree. I had to submit a lot of documents to get the visa and arrived in the host country late after classes had started.

I again tried to get admission for a 1 years masters and got accepted, this time without funding in the same European country. I enquired if the language of instruction is English and they assured me it is. On day one of classes I came to know that the language is not English though, but the official language of that nation. I have learnt that language but not up to B2 level, so I had to translate a lot and refer to a lot of books for reference in English. Due to this my speed of learning became slow and I dropped out on December 8th of last year as I wasn't confident enough to pass the course.

I am thinking of going back to country X to work part time job and apply again for same degree next year ( Pure Math 1 year masters). I am stressed about my future because I have no work experience and not passing the course will be regarded badly in my country.

Is going back to Europe to get a masters degree on my parents money a good idea?Given that I don't have a job experience and I am 26 years old or am I chasing an obsession?

I don't have much guidence in real life unfortunately and career counsillors are not available in my country.

Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by Buzz, Richard Erickson, The Doctor, Flyto, Sursula
deleted 1473 characters in body
Source Link
Sursula
  • 21.8k
  • 8
  • 65
  • 128
Loading
edited tags; edited tags
Link
Buffy
  • 375.4k
  • 86
  • 993
  • 1.5k
Loading
deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
user438383
  • 3.2k
  • 2
  • 18
  • 25
Loading
added 171 characters in body
Source Link
Nir
  • 19
  • 4
Loading
added 11 characters in body
Source Link
Nir
  • 19
  • 4
Loading
added 39 characters in body
Source Link
Nir
  • 19
  • 4
Loading
Source Link
Nir
  • 19
  • 4
Loading