Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 10 at 23:08 vote accept 이희원
Jan 10 at 22:49 history became hot network question
Jan 10 at 16:44 answer added R1NaNo timeline score: 3
Jan 10 at 16:38 comment added Jon Custer As an aside, my favorite find was when I went to get some of the original Rutherford, Geiger, and Marsden article on alpha scattering (I was doing Rutherford Backscattering Spectrometry at the time). While flipping through the bound tome this long color plate of hummingbird wings unfolded itself. It was an illustration from one of Rayleigh's articles on iridescent colors.
Jan 10 at 15:05 answer added Buffy timeline score: 3
Jan 10 at 15:04 comment added 이희원 @TheDoctor True, the motivation and the background knowledge does take up a lot of paper. But as a beginner in academia, those pages tremendously helped me with the concepts used for the research and the notation used in the paper :)
Jan 10 at 15:01 comment added Jon Custer One should not underestimate just how many other useful articles I found while paging through the thick book of bound journals looking up something else. Just don't have that experience anymore.
Jan 10 at 14:59 comment added 이희원 @JonCuster Oh wow, I hadn't even considered following the footnotes on actual paperback journals. That sounds like very long weekdays ;) I could confidently say that I too am enjoying the footnote trails. I just found the dramatic differences between fields quite intriguing.
Jan 10 at 14:58 comment added The Doctor I subscribe to Jon's comment. As a physicist currently working with AI, I think CS papers are a little verbose...
Jan 10 at 14:50 comment added Jon Custer I can't comment about the CS ones but, yes, articles in Phys. Rev. assume you are active in the field or willing to put in the time to come up to speed (which is slow the first time, but you get faster at it). But I will say I enjoyed those long footnote trails wandering around the stacks in the library finding things (journals on paper then, not electronics).
S Jan 10 at 14:44 review First questions
Jan 10 at 16:10
S Jan 10 at 14:44 history asked 이희원 CC BY-SA 4.0