Skip to main content
18 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 13, 2023 at 8:02 answer added Solomon Ucko timeline score: 2
Nov 12, 2023 at 17:14 history protected CommunityBot
Nov 12, 2023 at 8:46 comment added Adam Přenosil Your post sound very much like you are trying to a run a race with your shoelaces tied together but instead of properly acknowledging that this is impossible, you are trying to figure out what the correct "trick" is for running with one's shoelaces tied together. I understand that for a certain mindset it's easier to spend ten times as much mental effort as other people on forcing yourself to proceed ten times less efficiently rather than getting someone's help with getting your shoelaces actually untied, but the truth is that there simply is no such "trick".
Nov 12, 2023 at 8:27 comment added Adam Přenosil "I understand this isn't the place for mental health advice, so I am looking for academic advice." My academic advice is that this is very clearly a mental health issue related to your MDD diagnosis. "Techniques" will not help you beat your depression. You cannot "trick" depression out of existence. If you are having trouble motivating yourself to seek better help, please talk to a trusted family member of friend and tell them what you told us. Forget about the thesis for a while, your #1 task is to truly come to terms with the fact that you have a mental health issue that you need to address.
Nov 12, 2023 at 4:27 comment added starseed_trooper I've been told that it's not uncommon for people struggling with depression symptoms to try 2-3 different medications before finding something that works for them. If you've seen no improvement in your symptoms after more than a few months on this particular kind, it seems like a good indicator to try another kind of medication. If your psychiatrist disagrees, I'd suggest getting a second opinion. Good luck: you've made it this far!
Nov 11, 2023 at 6:09 comment added curious_template @leonos I had considered that, but I feel like I'll just disappoint more people if I involve them. I also worry my lack of progress and motivation will rub off on them and stall their progress too. I feel like the sinking one in the saying "Drowning men will drag you down if you let them. Sometimes, to survive, you have to let them sink." I do not want to consciously make that decision and put someone at risk.
Nov 10, 2023 at 23:19 answer added Parrever timeline score: 2
Nov 10, 2023 at 19:49 answer added Eggy timeline score: 2
Nov 10, 2023 at 18:03 comment added user126108 Have you tried to do a “co-writing” session with a buddy? Set a time together, share your goal for the session, and do it (live or remotely). If self-imposed pressure / motivation doesn’t work for you, a bit of social pressure might help
Nov 10, 2023 at 15:34 answer added Buffy timeline score: 6
Nov 10, 2023 at 14:42 comment added curious_template @mkennedy yeah I did I was bumped up on dosage and it has been about 3 weeks. She recommends waiting for about 2 more weeks for it to "kick in". @ Nobody I haven't told him about the made-up issues I'm facing, but he has been really helpful when I asked for a review. Need to get through the changes and write a couple more pages. @ Dawn I expect around ~10-15 more pages. And reviews for that and the rest of the doc.
Nov 10, 2023 at 14:25 comment added Dawn How much do you really need to add if you have a draft? Can it just be turned in and you can accept it is not A work?
Nov 10, 2023 at 14:24 comment added Nobody Have you talked to your thesis advisor ? Did they say how much more would be needed for a master thesis ? Remember you are writing a master thesis, not a PhD thesis. It's not supposed to be this hard. I suspect you are pushing yourself too hard.
Nov 10, 2023 at 14:20 comment added mkennedy Go back to the counselor or a doctor to see if they can tweak or update your medication.
Nov 10, 2023 at 14:12 comment added curious_template I had a topic I was interested in, and I wanted to learn more about it. I even worked on a personal project that helped me in an interview, along with the project. I cannot for the life of me figure out how and where things went wrong. How was I motivated then, and not now? I try explaining my work to the walls to try and get that spark back and perhaps a few lines that I can add to my thesis. It kinda works, but progress has been painfully slow
Nov 10, 2023 at 14:08 comment added Nobody What motivated you to go to foreign country to seek master's degree in the first place ?
S Nov 10, 2023 at 13:56 review First questions
Nov 10, 2023 at 14:08
S Nov 10, 2023 at 13:56 history asked curious_template CC BY-SA 4.0