Skip to main content
Became Hot Network Question
edited title
Link
qwerty
  • 126
  • 1
  • 7

Does anybody Do people care about single-author works in quantum information theory?

edited title
Link
user438383
  • 3.2k
  • 2
  • 18
  • 25

Does nobodyanybody care about single-author works in quantum information theory?

typo
Source Link
qwerty
  • 126
  • 1
  • 7

I am a junior postdoc (completed one and a half years) working in the field of quantum information theory. I was told by my PhD advisor that single-author papers don’t really matter in physics. They said that it’s all collaborations now, citing the example of experimental sciences. I was surprised by how callous this sounded.

This comment was made in relation to a single-author work of mine which is something that came out of my PhD. I pursued it myself and as I didn't really get any relevant help, I ended up being the sole author.

So I am just wondering what the general consensus is on single-author works in the quantum information community, i.e. Ifif you are a postdoc advisor would you encourage your postdocs to write single-author papers? As a PhD advisor what would you think of your ex-students when they write their own papers?

I am a junior postdoc (completed one and a half years) working in the field of quantum information theory. I was told by my PhD advisor that single-author papers don’t really matter in physics. They said that it’s all collaborations now, citing the example of experimental sciences. I was surprised by how callous this sounded.

This comment was made in relation to a single-author work of mine which is something that came out of my PhD. I pursued it myself and as I didn't really get any relevant help, I ended up being the sole author.

So I am just wondering what the general consensus is on single-author works in the quantum information community, i.e. If you are a postdoc advisor would you encourage your postdocs to write single-author papers? As a PhD advisor what would you think of your ex-students when they write their own papers?

I am a junior postdoc (completed one and a half years) working in the field of quantum information theory. I was told by my PhD advisor that single-author papers don’t really matter in physics. They said that it’s all collaborations now, citing the example of experimental sciences. I was surprised by how callous this sounded.

This comment was made in relation to a single-author work of mine which is something that came out of my PhD. I pursued it myself and as I didn't really get any relevant help, I ended up being the sole author.

So I am just wondering what the general consensus is on single-author works in the quantum information community, i.e. if you are a postdoc advisor would you encourage your postdocs to write single-author papers? As a PhD advisor what would you think of your ex-students when they write their own papers?

rephrased the original question
Source Link
qwerty
  • 126
  • 1
  • 7
Loading
Making the question clear, relevant tags, structure
Source Link
Wrzlprmft
  • 62.7k
  • 18
  • 193
  • 299
Loading
clarification
Source Link
qwerty
  • 126
  • 1
  • 7
Loading
added 63 characters in body
Source Link
qwerty
  • 126
  • 1
  • 7
Loading
Source Link
qwerty
  • 126
  • 1
  • 7
Loading