Skip to main content
added 5 characters in body
Source Link
WoJ
  • 8.6k
  • 19
  • 43

PhD research is on a full spectrum from "I am in a large group and something eventually will sweat out and my PhD is more or less connected to that so I will be fine", through "I need to work hard to get 174 results because they are needed for my stats and I will prove or not my idea, but I see more or less where this is going", up to "I am sitting and waiting for the eureka moment so that my gut feeling turns into science".

I am not even going into what "science" means.

I started in the middle group, had a gut feeling, and ended up in the third one. It was really stressful because I am not brilliant and it took some forceps exercise to get the eureka out.

What this means for you is that you may just be starting, you need to understand where you are, how a PhD works and similar stuff. It takes an awful amount of time to understand all this and depends a lot on the group you are in.

Do not worry, lots of people feel that they are moving too slowly until the moment they realize that they are not.

PhD research is on a full spectrum from "I am in a large group and something eventually will sweat out and my PhD is more or less connected to that so I will be fine", through "I need to work hard to get 174 results because they are needed for my stats and I will prove or not my idea, but I see more or less where this is going", up to "I am sitting and waiting for the eureka moment so that my gut feeling turns into science".

I am not even going into what "science" means.

I started in the middle group, had a gut feeling, and ended up in the third one. It was really stressful because I am not brilliant and it took some forceps exercise to get the eureka out.

What this means for you is that you may just be starting, you need to understand where you are, how a PhD works and similar stuff. It takes an awful amount of time to understand all this and depends a lot on the group you are in.

Do not worry, lots of people feel that they are moving too slowly until the moment they realize that are not.

PhD research is on a full spectrum from "I am in a large group and something eventually will sweat out and my PhD is more or less connected to that so I will be fine", through "I need to work hard to get 174 results because they are needed for my stats and I will prove or not my idea, but I see more or less where this is going", up to "I am sitting and waiting for the eureka moment so that my gut feeling turns into science".

I am not even going into what "science" means.

I started in the middle group, had a gut feeling, and ended up in the third one. It was really stressful because I am not brilliant and it took some forceps exercise to get the eureka out.

What this means for you is that you may just be starting, you need to understand where you are, how a PhD works and similar stuff. It takes an awful amount of time to understand all this and depends a lot on the group you are in.

Do not worry, lots of people feel that they are moving too slowly until the moment they realize that they are not.

Source Link
WoJ
  • 8.6k
  • 19
  • 43

PhD research is on a full spectrum from "I am in a large group and something eventually will sweat out and my PhD is more or less connected to that so I will be fine", through "I need to work hard to get 174 results because they are needed for my stats and I will prove or not my idea, but I see more or less where this is going", up to "I am sitting and waiting for the eureka moment so that my gut feeling turns into science".

I am not even going into what "science" means.

I started in the middle group, had a gut feeling, and ended up in the third one. It was really stressful because I am not brilliant and it took some forceps exercise to get the eureka out.

What this means for you is that you may just be starting, you need to understand where you are, how a PhD works and similar stuff. It takes an awful amount of time to understand all this and depends a lot on the group you are in.

Do not worry, lots of people feel that they are moving too slowly until the moment they realize that are not.