Skip to main content

Ideally, I would tell you to follow your passion. InstedInstead, I suggest that you follow youyour passion while also looking at what you might do when you are done.

More realistically, I would applysubmit applications to applied fields that interest me. I give this advice for two reasons. First, academic jobs are hard to get. This will give you a good backup career outside of academia. Second, there is less competition because people have other career options outside of academicsacademia. Thus, all the graduategraduates from your program will not be competing for a limited number of positions.

For example, pick engineering over (pure) physics; statistics/data science/applied mathematics over pure math; fisheries science over biology; or clinical psychology over academic psychology.

Look at where the alumni from the programs you are looking at end up. They are the best predictors of your options when you graduate from a program.

Ideally, I would tell you to follow your passion. Insted, I suggest you follow you passion looking at what you might do when you are done.

More realistically, I would apply to applied fields that interest me. I give this advice for two reasons. First, academic jobs are hard to get. This will give you a good backup career outside of academia. Second, there is less competition because people have other career options outside of academics. Thus, all the graduate from your program will not be competing for a limited number of positions.

For example, pick engineering over (pure) physics; statistics/data science/applied mathematics over pure math; fisheries science over biology; or clinical psychology over academic psychology.

Look at where the alumni from the programs you are looking at end up. They are the best predictors of your options when you graduate from a program.

Ideally, I would tell you to follow your passion. Instead, I suggest that you follow your passion while also looking at what you might do when you are done.

More realistically, I would submit applications to applied fields that interest me. I give this advice for two reasons. First, academic jobs are hard to get. This will give you a good backup career outside of academia. Second, there is less competition because people have other career options outside of academia. Thus, all the graduates from your program will not be competing for a limited number of positions.

For example, pick engineering over (pure) physics; statistics/data science/applied mathematics over pure math; fisheries science over biology; or clinical psychology over academic psychology.

Look at where the alumni from the programs you are looking at end up. They are the best predictors of your options when you graduate from a program.

fixed typo
Source Link
Richard Erickson
  • 16.3k
  • 3
  • 46
  • 75

Ideally, I would tell you to follow your passion. Insted, I suggest you follow you passion looking at what you might do when you are done.

More realistically, I would apply to applied fields that interest me. I give this advice for two reasons. First, academic jobs are hard to get. This will give you a good backup career outside of academia. Second, there is less competition because people have other career options outside of academics. Thus, all the graduate from your program will not be competing for a limited number of positions.

For example, pick engineering over (pure) physics; statistics/data science/applied mathematics over pure math; fisheries science over biology; or physiological consultingclinical psychology over academic physiologypsychology.

Look at where the alumni from the programs you are looking at end up. They are the best predictors of your options when you graduate from a program.

Ideally, I would tell you to follow your passion. Insted, I suggest you follow you passion looking at what you might do when you are done.

More realistically, I would apply to applied fields that interest me. I give this advice for two reasons. First, academic jobs are hard to get. This will give you a good backup career outside of academia. Second, there is less competition because people have other career options outside of academics. Thus, all the graduate from your program will not be competing for a limited number of positions.

For example, pick engineering over (pure) physics; statistics/data science/applied mathematics over pure math; fisheries science over biology; or physiological consulting over academic physiology.

Look at where the alumni from the programs you are looking at end up.

Ideally, I would tell you to follow your passion. Insted, I suggest you follow you passion looking at what you might do when you are done.

More realistically, I would apply to applied fields that interest me. I give this advice for two reasons. First, academic jobs are hard to get. This will give you a good backup career outside of academia. Second, there is less competition because people have other career options outside of academics. Thus, all the graduate from your program will not be competing for a limited number of positions.

For example, pick engineering over (pure) physics; statistics/data science/applied mathematics over pure math; fisheries science over biology; or clinical psychology over academic psychology.

Look at where the alumni from the programs you are looking at end up. They are the best predictors of your options when you graduate from a program.

Source Link
Richard Erickson
  • 16.3k
  • 3
  • 46
  • 75

Ideally, I would tell you to follow your passion. Insted, I suggest you follow you passion looking at what you might do when you are done.

More realistically, I would apply to applied fields that interest me. I give this advice for two reasons. First, academic jobs are hard to get. This will give you a good backup career outside of academia. Second, there is less competition because people have other career options outside of academics. Thus, all the graduate from your program will not be competing for a limited number of positions.

For example, pick engineering over (pure) physics; statistics/data science/applied mathematics over pure math; fisheries science over biology; or physiological consulting over academic physiology.

Look at where the alumni from the programs you are looking at end up.