Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • no downvote from my side, but "I consider her thesis to be a lot better than PhD theses I saw accepted at the R1 institution where I did my PhD." no one cares, you are just a random person in the internet.
    – EarlGrey
    Commented Jun 27, 2023 at 15:40
  • When reading other's answers, I always appreciate answers that refer to their personal experiences and opinions stemming from those.
    – Cheery
    Commented Jun 27, 2023 at 16:52
  • +1 for mentioning the sunk cost fallacy and stating "pleasing parents is rarely a good criterion for deciding what to do with your life." I think the anecdote about the friend's thesis is unnecessary but doesn't detract from the rest of the answer.
    – shoover
    Commented Jun 27, 2023 at 17:57
  • Personal experience: xkcd.com/1827
    – EarlGrey
    Commented Jun 27, 2023 at 22:28