Skip to main content
removed ablist language "lame"
Source Link
Greg Martin
  • 3.2k
  • 13
  • 22

Basically, it is as the title says.

I have received an invitation to be a member of a grant proposal committee. They have offered a compensation for each working day (which includes interview sessions). Now, my department asks me to

  1. either give them back the entire compensation in a special account, or
  2. register vacation days for the days I have worked for this committee.

I was shocked because I never heard about that, the funding institution never mentioned anything like this, and when I asked my "manager" about that in the past, they did not mention anything about this.

The "rationale" (which I find very lameunconvincing) is that they already pay me so if I do something "Extracurricular" I should register it as vacations, or pay back whatever I have received.

Is this standard practice? Can I avoid it somehow?

Edit: this is The Netherlands and this task is not considered as ancillary activity and so that Collective Labor Agreement about reimbursing the compensation does not apply.

Basically, it is as the title says.

I have received an invitation to be a member of a grant proposal committee. They have offered a compensation for each working day (which includes interview sessions). Now, my department asks me to

  1. either give them back the entire compensation in a special account, or
  2. register vacation days for the days I have worked for this committee.

I was shocked because I never heard about that, the funding institution never mentioned anything like this, and when I asked my "manager" about that in the past, they did not mention anything about this.

The "rationale" (which I find very lame) is that they already pay me so if I do something "Extracurricular" I should register it as vacations, or pay back whatever I have received.

Is this standard practice? Can I avoid it somehow?

Edit: this is The Netherlands and this task is not considered as ancillary activity and so that Collective Labor Agreement about reimbursing the compensation does not apply.

Basically, it is as the title says.

I have received an invitation to be a member of a grant proposal committee. They have offered a compensation for each working day (which includes interview sessions). Now, my department asks me to

  1. either give them back the entire compensation in a special account, or
  2. register vacation days for the days I have worked for this committee.

I was shocked because I never heard about that, the funding institution never mentioned anything like this, and when I asked my "manager" about that in the past, they did not mention anything about this.

The "rationale" (which I find very unconvincing) is that they already pay me so if I do something "Extracurricular" I should register it as vacations, or pay back whatever I have received.

Is this standard practice? Can I avoid it somehow?

Edit: this is The Netherlands and this task is not considered as ancillary activity and so that Collective Labor Agreement about reimbursing the compensation does not apply.

Added extra info
Source Link
PsySp
  • 8.2k
  • 6
  • 36
  • 60

Basically, it is as the title says.

I have received an invitation to be a member of a grant proposal committee. They have offered a compensation for each working day (which includes interview sessions). Now, my department asks me to

  1. either give them back the entire compensation in a special account, or
  2. register vacation days for the days I have worked for this committee.

I was shocked because I never heard about that, the funding institution never mentioned anything like this, and when I asked my "manager" about that in the past, they did not mention anything about this.

The "rationale" (which I find very lame) is that they already pay me so if I do something "Extracurricular" I should register it as vacations, or pay back whatever I have received.

Is this standard practice? Can I avoid it somehow?

Edit: this is The Netherlands and this task is not considered as ancillary activity and so that Collective Labor Agreement about reimbursing the compensation does not apply.

Basically, it is as the title says.

I have received an invitation to be a member of a grant proposal committee. They have offered a compensation for each working day (which includes interview sessions). Now, my department asks me to

  1. either give them back the entire compensation in a special account, or
  2. register vacation days for the days I have worked for this committee.

I was shocked because I never heard about that, the funding institution never mentioned anything like this, and when I asked my "manager" about that in the past, they did not mention anything about this.

The "rationale" (which I find very lame) is that they already pay me so if I do something "Extracurricular" I should register it as vacations, or pay back whatever I have received.

Is this standard practice? Can I avoid it somehow?

Edit: this is The Netherlands

Basically, it is as the title says.

I have received an invitation to be a member of a grant proposal committee. They have offered a compensation for each working day (which includes interview sessions). Now, my department asks me to

  1. either give them back the entire compensation in a special account, or
  2. register vacation days for the days I have worked for this committee.

I was shocked because I never heard about that, the funding institution never mentioned anything like this, and when I asked my "manager" about that in the past, they did not mention anything about this.

The "rationale" (which I find very lame) is that they already pay me so if I do something "Extracurricular" I should register it as vacations, or pay back whatever I have received.

Is this standard practice? Can I avoid it somehow?

Edit: this is The Netherlands and this task is not considered as ancillary activity and so that Collective Labor Agreement about reimbursing the compensation does not apply.

Removed novel "compensation" tag.
Link
Bryan Krause
  • 123.1k
  • 29
  • 354
  • 453
Became Hot Network Question
Became Hot Network Question
Became Hot Network Question
Became Hot Network Question
added 33 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
PsySp
  • 8.2k
  • 6
  • 36
  • 60
Loading
Source Link
PsySp
  • 8.2k
  • 6
  • 36
  • 60
Loading