Skip to main content
4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 28, 2023 at 13:42 comment added Jared Greathouse It would not simply look bad on you, it would also tarnish their reputation. I'm a Ph.D student. Someone else doesn't just get to get my Ph.D along with me (literally, in the sense that we both get the same PhD) because life and academia are based, in part, on owning your own actions. Again, I'm not saying you don't reach out and ask for feedback, that's all well and good, but you can't just fork over authorship.
Apr 28, 2023 at 13:38 comment added Jared Greathouse When I say "this business", I just mean in this industry of academia-- the fact that you're here on this website tells me that you are in this business, even if it isn't for life. My point is, giving some credit is not the same thing as giving authorship. No professional journal would accept someone being listed as an author who didn't adhere to most of the guidelines I've informally described above. It's called "gift authorship". Google says gift authorship is one of the most common forms of unethical behaviors in academia.
Apr 28, 2023 at 6:12 comment added Ash Thank you for the response. If I am the only one who has worked hard on it, why can't I give some credit to someone else who has not? I don't really work in the academic business, and it is not important to me that I am giving it away.
Apr 27, 2023 at 22:49 history answered Jared Greathouse CC BY-SA 4.0