Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • 1
    Thank you for the response. If I am the only one who has worked hard on it, why can't I give some credit to someone else who has not? I don't really work in the academic business, and it is not important to me that I am giving it away.
    – Ash
    Commented Apr 28, 2023 at 6:12
  • When I say "this business", I just mean in this industry of academia-- the fact that you're here on this website tells me that you are in this business, even if it isn't for life. My point is, giving some credit is not the same thing as giving authorship. No professional journal would accept someone being listed as an author who didn't adhere to most of the guidelines I've informally described above. It's called "gift authorship". Google says gift authorship is one of the most common forms of unethical behaviors in academia. Commented Apr 28, 2023 at 13:38
  • It would not simply look bad on you, it would also tarnish their reputation. I'm a Ph.D student. Someone else doesn't just get to get my Ph.D along with me (literally, in the sense that we both get the same PhD) because life and academia are based, in part, on owning your own actions. Again, I'm not saying you don't reach out and ask for feedback, that's all well and good, but you can't just fork over authorship. Commented Apr 28, 2023 at 13:42