Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 13 at 0:56 comment added Kamal Saleh I classified my paper as Classical Analysis and ODEs and they put it in GM. Now I understand why they did that;-; I did realize that the way I wrote my paper made them think it was junk right away. I hope a new referee sees the update and realizes that it isn't as bad as they thought ;-;
Apr 24, 2023 at 19:08 comment added Jochen Glueck @MoisheKohan: Yes, indeed. I guess my reasoning back then was that there was too much "topology on the real line" in the paper to classify it as "Ring and Algebras", but (a priori) too little structure from the real field to classify it as "analysis". The bottom line is, of course, that I misunderstood "general mathematics" as a category for papers that are "in the middle" between two other categories, rather than a category for dubious or crank papers. ;-)
Apr 24, 2023 at 18:58 comment added Moishe Kohan @JochenGlueck: also could have been Rings and Algebras (which includes semigroups).
Apr 24, 2023 at 18:53 comment added Jochen Glueck For what it's worth, the converse of 2. happened to me when I uploaded my first paper to arXiv as a beginning PhD student 9-10 years ago. It was about totally ordered (algebraic) semigroups, which is quite of a niche topic (and it stemmed from my Bachelor's thesis and wasn't really related to the field my PhD advisor was used to). It didn't seem to fit any of the algebraic categories but, to my unexperienced self, didn't really feel like "analysis" either - so I selected "GM". The arXiv moderators were kind enough to reclassify it as "Classical Analysis and ODEs".
Apr 24, 2023 at 10:21 comment added Especially Lime @Buffy Even writing for a general audience normally involves some specific mathematics. Of course, writing about e.g. what mathematics is can fit the "general mathematics" tag, but when serious mathematicians do that sort of thing they tend to put it in math.HO ("history and overview") instead.
Apr 23, 2023 at 21:08 comment added Moishe Kohan @Buffy: Of course, just they would not use the GM arXiv category (as things currently stand, I am not talking about papers from 20-30 years ago).
Apr 23, 2023 at 20:53 comment added Buffy That last is a bit strong. There are serious mathematicians who do write for a general audience. Just as there are in physics, etc.
Apr 23, 2023 at 20:38 history answered Moishe Kohan CC BY-SA 4.0