Skip to main content
4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 20, 2023 at 18:29 comment added burnedstudent This makes me want to cry. The number of times that I have discarded potential problems because a method to solve it already exists is really large! This is something that I will definitely keep in mind. Thanks for your answers!
Feb 20, 2023 at 18:11 comment added user137975 @burnedstudent I'm pretty sure in hindsight that I misunderstood a whole genre/branch of work in the area of my MSc thesis and essentially missed it in both the thesis and paper's lit review. My approach was new, but I could've probably fit it into that genre's existing framework gracefully. C'est la vie, I don't lose sleep over it. The main idea was still new and interesting.
Feb 20, 2023 at 18:03 comment added burnedstudent There are two things that I'm really beating myself up over: 1) Not having discovered the arXiV version, or having discovered it but missing the small part which addresses my paper, and 2) using my lack of knowledge of it in some way to justify my novelty by saying that this was not addressed in their work. I see your point that since I did not make a claim about their arXiV version at all and also haven't cited it, it wouldn't be considered majorly careless or dishonest. The method that I have used remains different from their work, all though the goal that is achieved happens to be the same.
Feb 20, 2023 at 17:45 history answered user137975 CC BY-SA 4.0