Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 29 at 21:34 history closed cag51 Not suitable for this site
Mar 29 at 21:34 comment added cag51 I'm going to hammer this one closed (it had three close votes two years ago, not counting me). The dilemma is interesting, but Europe is a big place, and this doesn't even specify a field, so we couldn't possibly give better advice than you could give yourself.
Mar 29 at 21:20 answer added Eve Carlson timeline score: 0
Dec 15, 2022 at 6:00 history tweeted twitter.com/StackAcademia/status/1603268634675134467
Dec 9, 2022 at 19:10 comment added Lodinn Eh, at least a local system would not allow that for a number of reasons. Putting aside a chunk of grant money just to pay APCs in Frontiers is fair game though, perverse incentives all the way. Bear in mind that this is likely to be a financial decision for the university - if you and your group only produce one paper in two years, this means bad metrics and loss of funding, if you claim five papers a year when the reasonable expectation would be two, the university would question such an application. Low (but not too low) conservative value is good.
Dec 9, 2022 at 14:38 comment added Chim3ra @EarlGrey Yes, I agree with you. In fact, your comment helped me realize that the Agreement itself is mostly structured around me as an individual. To be fair, this is a new way of recruiting professors for the Uni, so probably the Uni hasn't had time to iron out some flaws with the documentation. I am still waiting for their response. I could have put a value of 30 there and impress them, and then just publish everything on arXiv, and I would have met the publication "goal" :P
Dec 9, 2022 at 13:19 comment added EarlGrey Being completely honest, if I were to set expectations for myself You are a professor, these are the publications of your group, there is not anymore a "me", now you are "my research group". Getting a professorship is a big change, especially because your failure is "my research group failure". If you are an asshole you take it as a way out, if you are a decent person you will read it as a"my research group failure is my falilure" ... it is up to you, enjoy the responsibility :D . A part from this detail, I share your fundamental doubt about giving any value to the number of publications.
Dec 8, 2022 at 21:07 comment added Chim3ra @avid ok, so I did some research, and I saw that the law stipulates that this agreement should "specify the objectives of research", and apparently someone from the administration thought that using numbers would be a good way to do it. I told the university that perhaps a descriptive text is better there, and will wait for their response.
Dec 8, 2022 at 19:50 review Close votes
Dec 15, 2022 at 3:02
Dec 8, 2022 at 19:33 comment added Alexander Woo I feel so strongly about avid's comment that I'm voting to close (for strongly depending on individual factors).
Dec 8, 2022 at 19:13 comment added avid I think this really needs advice from someone who is familiar with the local context. Can you talk to other people who have gone through the tenure process and/or your head of department/similar?
Dec 8, 2022 at 19:06 history asked Chim3ra CC BY-SA 4.0