Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackAcademia/status/1589769764788121607
edited tags
Link
Buffy
  • 375.4k
  • 86
  • 993
  • 1.5k
edited tags
Link
Buffy
  • 375.4k
  • 86
  • 993
  • 1.5k
Source Link

Is quitting PhD a good decision in my case?

Currently, I am at one and half years into my PhD in Netherlands. I had burnout at the end of my first year, I got some help but I don't think I am able to work still at my full potential.

The burnout could be of the following reason, I am the first PhD for my supervisor and I need to setup the lab as well (like buying components and materials needed) and need to build my device from scratch. Since I started during lockdown, I couldn't obtain the materials I needed and it delayed which caused some delay in making the device itself. This was overwhelming as I see myself not progressing and not doing science but engineering works.

My supervisor is very kind and understandable, I was insisted to take holidays and take help from universities which I got. The university psychologist suggested that I should go out and seek professional help as I have serious burnout and depression issues. So I applied for one and it starts next week.

My supervisor changed my topic and gave me a new one which doesn't involve hardware and now I can do things on my laptop itself. However, I was insisted that I should start working now otherwise I wouldn't be able to graduate. That is, I am technically restarting my Phd and should be completing it in 3 years time.

I really do not see myself doing this in my current state, it's like tripling down my work and my doctors suggests me to take it really slow as I am recovering from burnout. Also, an important thing I don't know if research gives me happiness anymore (or am just very anxious about it), every weekly meeting takes a huge toll on my mental health.

1) Should I still consider to pursue PhD ?

2) Is getting job in Netherlands after quitting PHD considered a bad thing?

3) If I go for job, should I get a job before leaving PhD?

Looking forward to all your valuable suggestions.