Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

10
  • 1
    Comments are not for extended discussion; this conversation has been moved to chat.
    – Bryan Krause
    Commented Oct 19, 2022 at 14:06
  • 1
    I vote to close this question because it depends too much on personal details, as you state "all other people are doing fine in Germany".
    – EarlGrey
    Commented Oct 19, 2022 at 14:48
  • 6
    @EarlGrey I wrote " I've asked people that got a degree from my university (Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology) and all of them are doing fine in Germany", not all other people. The meaning of this sentence that people that I know did not face any legal problems with employment. It is just my observation.
    – Evgenii
    Commented Oct 19, 2022 at 15:57
  • 2
    @Dr.Snoopy I need to ask an Ukrainian lawyer, but I think I could. Problem is this procedure takes more than 1 year. Not only my citizenship is a problem but also the fact that I study in russian university. Also, I was told that people from post soviet space will have problems with employment in cutting edge research if they have degree from russian education facility.
    – Evgenii
    Commented Oct 21, 2022 at 11:56
  • 1
    @Evgenii I only comment about citizenship due to easing of migration rules, Ukrainians have visa-free access to the Schengen area, and more chances to get work permits. I do not comment on rumors or "I was told" because these could be not true and it all depends on where (institute/uni) and what (topic, environment), this is something key, it is still possibly for you to find PhD positions or a job to support yourself, apply, do not assume the blanket ban that some of the answers are implying. Know the local system and you will have no trouble finding a job. Just try to be flexible.
    – Dr. Snoopy
    Commented Oct 21, 2022 at 17:47