Skip to main content

"My question is whether I will be able to find an academic job after leaving a Tenure-Track position, with about 1 year gap"

I am currently in a situation to leave my assistant prof position (TT) in the area of business and management due to personal reasons- relocating with my partner overseas. I like my job, and iI intend to reapply for academic positions in about a years time, and meanwhile will try to publish with my former colleagues and find casual teaching in local universities.

I have heard of frightening stories that once you leave academia you can never come back, unless you are a research superstar.

Just for further info, iI have been working in a relatively reputatablereputable East Asian university, and my phdPhD was completed in the Australasia region. However iI am relocating to US/Canada.

I have 5 years experience working in my current role, with ok publications  - iI am not a research superstar but iI am regularly publishing in relatively good journals (but not top, approx 1-2 articles per year). I have extensive teaching experience and can cover more than usual topics in my area.

I dontdon't think getting references would be a problem, but am still worried that i will not be able to make it back into academia due to the unusual career gap. Taking an unpaid leave is not an option as iI do not intend to stay/come back to my current institution. Also I have been making last minute job applications to usUS/canadianCanadian universities but haventhaven't heard back from them yet (the relocation decision was made recently, so i wasntI wasn't able to target the full recruitment season).

I have seen similar posts but in the area of science  - any comments on business/management area or something that may be applicable to social sciences would be greatly appreciated!

"My question is whether I will be able to find an academic job after leaving a Tenure-Track position, with about 1 year gap"

I am currently in a situation to leave my assistant prof position (TT) in the area of business and management due to personal reasons- relocating with my partner overseas. I like my job, and i intend to reapply for academic positions in about a years time, and meanwhile will try to publish with my former colleagues and find casual teaching in local universities.

I have heard of frightening stories that once you leave academia you can never come back, unless you are a research superstar.

Just for further info, i have been working in a relatively reputatable East Asian university, and my phd was completed in the Australasia region. However i am relocating to US/Canada.

I have 5 years experience working in my current role, with ok publications- i am not a research superstar but i am regularly publishing in relatively good journals (but not top, approx 1-2 articles per year). I have extensive teaching experience and can cover more than usual topics in my area.

I dont think getting references would be a problem, but am still worried that i will not be able to make it back into academia due to the unusual career gap. Taking an unpaid leave is not an option as i do not intend to stay/come back to my current institution. Also I have been making last minute job applications to us/canadian universities but havent heard back from them yet (the relocation decision was made recently, so i wasnt able to target the full recruitment season).

I have seen similar posts but in the area of science- any comments on business/management area or something that may be applicable to social sciences would be greatly appreciated!

"My question is whether I will be able to find an academic job after leaving a Tenure-Track position, with about 1 year gap"

I am currently in a situation to leave my assistant prof position (TT) in the area of business and management due to personal reasons- relocating with my partner overseas. I like my job, and I intend to reapply for academic positions in about a years time, and meanwhile will try to publish with my former colleagues and find casual teaching in local universities.

I have heard of frightening stories that once you leave academia you can never come back, unless you are a research superstar.

Just for further info, I have been working in a relatively reputable East Asian university, and my PhD was completed in the Australasia region. However I am relocating to US/Canada.

I have 5 years experience working in my current role, with ok publications  - I am not a research superstar but I am regularly publishing in relatively good journals (but not top, approx 1-2 articles per year). I have extensive teaching experience and can cover more than usual topics in my area.

I don't think getting references would be a problem, but am still worried that i will not be able to make it back into academia due to the unusual career gap. Taking an unpaid leave is not an option as I do not intend to stay/come back to my current institution. Also I have been making last minute job applications to US/Canadian universities but haven't heard back from them yet (the relocation decision was made recently, so I wasn't able to target the full recruitment season).

I have seen similar posts but in the area of science  - any comments on business/management area or something that may be applicable to social sciences would be greatly appreciated!

Became Hot Network Question
Tweeted twitter.com/StackAcademia/status/1579894641859567616
edited title
Link

Leaving a TT job andthen re-entering inacademia: Area of business and management area

added 19 characters in body
Source Link

"My question is whether I will be able to find an academic job after leaving a Tenure-Track position, with about 1 year gap"

I am currently in a situation to leave my assistant prof position (TT) in the area of business and management due to personal reasons- relocating with my partner overseas. I like my job, and i intend to reapply for academic positions in about a years time, and meanwhile will try to publish with my former colleagues and find casual teaching in local universities.

I have heard of frightening stories that once you leave academia you can never come back, unless you are a research superstar.

Just for further info, i have been working in a relatively reputatable East Asian university, and my phd was completed in the Australasia region. However i am relocating to US/Canada.

I have 5 years experience working in my current role, with ok publications- i am not a research superstar but i am regularly publishing in relatively good journals (but not top, approx 1-2 articles per year). I have extensive teaching experience and can cover more than usual topics in my area.

I dont think getting references would be a problem, but am still worried that i will not be able to make it back into academia due to the unusual career gap. Taking an unpaid leave is not an option as i do not intend to stay/come back to my current institution. Also I have been making last minute job applications to us/canadian universities but havent heard back from them yet (the relocation decision was made recently, so i wasnt able to target the full recruitment season).

I have seen similar posts but in the area of science- any comments on business/management area or something that may be applicable to social sciences would be greatly appreciated!

"My question is whether I will be able to find an academic job after leaving a Tenure-Track position, with about 1 year gap"

I am currently in a situation to leave my assistant prof position (TT) in the area of business and management due to personal reasons- relocating with my partner overseas. I intend to reapply for academic positions in about a years time, and meanwhile will try to publish with my former colleagues and find casual teaching in local universities.

I have heard of frightening stories that once you leave academia you can never come back, unless you are a research superstar.

Just for further info, i have been working in a relatively reputatable East Asian university, and my phd was completed in the Australasia region. However i am relocating to US/Canada.

I have 5 years experience working in my current role, with ok publications- i am not a research superstar but i am regularly publishing in relatively good journals (but not top, approx 1-2 articles per year). I have extensive teaching experience and can cover more than usual topics in my area.

I dont think getting references would be a problem, but am still worried that i will not be able to make it back into academia due to the unusual career gap. Taking an unpaid leave is not an option as i do not intend to stay/come back to my current institution. Also I have been making last minute job applications to us/canadian universities but havent heard back from them yet (the relocation decision was made recently, so i wasnt able to target the full recruitment season).

I have seen similar posts but in the area of science- any comments on business/management area or something that may be applicable to social sciences would be greatly appreciated!

"My question is whether I will be able to find an academic job after leaving a Tenure-Track position, with about 1 year gap"

I am currently in a situation to leave my assistant prof position (TT) in the area of business and management due to personal reasons- relocating with my partner overseas. I like my job, and i intend to reapply for academic positions in about a years time, and meanwhile will try to publish with my former colleagues and find casual teaching in local universities.

I have heard of frightening stories that once you leave academia you can never come back, unless you are a research superstar.

Just for further info, i have been working in a relatively reputatable East Asian university, and my phd was completed in the Australasia region. However i am relocating to US/Canada.

I have 5 years experience working in my current role, with ok publications- i am not a research superstar but i am regularly publishing in relatively good journals (but not top, approx 1-2 articles per year). I have extensive teaching experience and can cover more than usual topics in my area.

I dont think getting references would be a problem, but am still worried that i will not be able to make it back into academia due to the unusual career gap. Taking an unpaid leave is not an option as i do not intend to stay/come back to my current institution. Also I have been making last minute job applications to us/canadian universities but havent heard back from them yet (the relocation decision was made recently, so i wasnt able to target the full recruitment season).

I have seen similar posts but in the area of science- any comments on business/management area or something that may be applicable to social sciences would be greatly appreciated!

Source Link
Loading