Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 6
    Agree with this. The only exception I see is when it is directly relevant: when I'm writing a letter of recommendation for a student applying to my alma mater, I'll sign it "Ph.D (UMN '14)". But that's to signal to the committee that the letter is from someone who knows their program specifically, not as a broadcast to the world. Commented Aug 30, 2022 at 19:32
  • 1
    I also agree, and would go further - I don't put PhD in my email signature because, well, it really has never been needed in my career. Now, something like P.E. (Professional Engineer) is quite another thing (but I'm not a PE).
    – Jon Custer
    Commented Aug 31, 2022 at 21:43
  • @JonCuster Most people I email have it somewhere in their "signature block" if not their signature proper. Commented Aug 31, 2022 at 22:10
  • @AzorAhai-him- Did any of them get their PhD from Harvard? :-)
    – MWB
    Commented Aug 31, 2022 at 22:24
  • @MWB I just checked, the one who did go to Harvard doesn't list their degree (probably because it's an EdD tbh) but plenty of others do Commented Sep 1, 2022 at 1:37