Skip to main content
added 2 characters in body
Source Link
Azor Ahai -him-
  • 30.4k
  • 10
  • 88
  • 117

One of the key points of the university system as it grew up in c13 Western Europe was that there was no such thing as a Paris degree or a Cologne degree or a Toulouse degree. A master was a master was a master. A doctor was a doctor was a doctor.

I can’t speak for the USA and, on the other side of the Atlantic, GermaniaGermany is a bit of an outlier. But in the UK, putting D.Phil (Oxon)D.Phil (Oxon) is definitely saying “look at me, I’m important”important. As such it says “I am unimportant enough to need to boost my importance in this way”way.

The information about where you got the doctorate might well be relevant and so should be findable. CVs, which list your whole educational history, might well include it. But in terms of your name, on business cards, letterheadingsletter headings, email signatures, it seems out of place.

Would you be asking this question if your qualification were “PhD (Possum Trot)”PhD (Possum Trot)?

One of the key points of the university system as it grew up in c13 Western Europe was that there was no such thing as a Paris degree or a Cologne degree or a Toulouse degree. A master was a master was a master. A doctor was a doctor was a doctor.

I can’t speak for the USA and, on the other side of the Atlantic, Germania is a bit of an outlier. But in the UK putting D.Phil (Oxon) is definitely saying “look at me, I’m important”. As such it says “I am unimportant enough to need to boost my importance in this way”.

The information about where you got the doctorate might well be relevant and so should be findable. CVs, which list your whole educational history, might well include it. But in terms of your name, on business cards, letterheadings, email signatures, it seems out of place.

Would you be asking this question if your qualification were “PhD (Possum Trot)”?

One of the key points of the university system as it grew up in c13 Western Europe was that there was no such thing as a Paris degree or a Cologne degree or a Toulouse degree. A master was a master was a master. A doctor was a doctor was a doctor.

I can’t speak for the USA and, on the other side of the Atlantic, Germany is a bit of an outlier. But in the UK, putting D.Phil (Oxon) is definitely saying “look at me, I’m important. As such it says “I am unimportant enough to need to boost my importance in this way.

The information about where you got the doctorate might well be relevant and so should be findable. CVs, which list your whole educational history, might well include it. But in terms of your name, on business cards, letter headings, email signatures, it seems out of place.

Would you be asking this question if your qualification were PhD (Possum Trot)?

Source Link

One of the key points of the university system as it grew up in c13 Western Europe was that there was no such thing as a Paris degree or a Cologne degree or a Toulouse degree. A master was a master was a master. A doctor was a doctor was a doctor.

I can’t speak for the USA and, on the other side of the Atlantic, Germania is a bit of an outlier. But in the UK putting D.Phil (Oxon) is definitely saying “look at me, I’m important”. As such it says “I am unimportant enough to need to boost my importance in this way”.

The information about where you got the doctorate might well be relevant and so should be findable. CVs, which list your whole educational history, might well include it. But in terms of your name, on business cards, letterheadings, email signatures, it seems out of place.

Would you be asking this question if your qualification were “PhD (Possum Trot)”?