Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 18, 2022 at 23:07 comment added MilesK As a student who constantly had their class disrupted by thoughtless questions, I gave my instructor a bad eval for letting that nonsense continue. I would have given him a medal for shutting down that rogue student, as would have my classmates.
Jan 18, 2022 at 16:13 comment added Nicole Hamilton @CyriacAntony I agree with that. I pay attention to my evals because I care about my students being happy with my performance. I want to know that I was accessible, answered all questions and did it well, and that I always treated students with respect. As a former entrepreneur, I come to teaching with the attitude that my students are my customers and "the customer is always right". (Well, maybe not always, but you get the idea.) If they complain about anything, I want to fix it if I can because that's what they deserve.
Jan 18, 2022 at 4:36 comment added Cyriac Antony I agree with the Nicole Hamilton's comment for the most part. I would rather say "DO NOT DO THIS" (because students may feel belittled with this approach; not because students will give bad evaluation for your course).
Jan 17, 2022 at 22:20 comment added Nicole Hamilton Definitely DO NOT DO THIS unless you're tenured and don't care about your course evals! Students will crucify you if start labeling questions as thoughtless or ridicule them by asking they "think about it 2 secs".
Jan 17, 2022 at 21:50 history answered MilesK CC BY-SA 4.0