Skip to main content
Question Protected by Massimo Ortolano
Some clarifications - use markup for *emphasis*
Source Link
Azor Ahai -him-
  • 30.8k
  • 10
  • 90
  • 119

I teach an advanced engineering undergrad class online and typically I love and encourage students to ask questions both by unmuting as well as over chat.

I have never had this problem in earlier years, but this time around I have a student who asks so many questions that it's almost disruptive to the lecture flow. Many of his questions are also either simplistic / irrelevant / repetitive.

On the one hand, we have this precept that there is no such thing as a stupid or silly question. On the other hand I feel the amount and quality of questions this particular student is asking is not helping the class.

Meanwhile, I don't want to discourage the rest of the class from asking questions. I already offered to spend as much time is needed to answer any student questions attheat the end of the lecture. I would be happy if this student would ask his questions at the end but I don't want to make this a general policy since I do actually love taking most other questions during the class as they pop up.

Any ideas on how one could tackle this sort of situation diplomatically? I don't want to be unfair to this student, but also have the most positive experience for the rest of the class.

Of course, there's no good way I can think of to get the perspective of the rest of the students.

I teach an advanced engineering undergrad class online and typically I love and encourage students to ask questions both by unmuting as well as over chat.

I have never had this problem in earlier years, but this time around I have a student who asks so many questions that it's almost disruptive to the lecture flow. Many of his questions are also either simplistic / irrelevant / repetitive.

On the one hand, we have this precept that there is no such thing as a stupid or silly question. On the other hand I feel the amount and quality of questions this particular student is asking is not helping the class.

Meanwhile, I don't want to discourage the rest of the class from asking questions. I already offered to spend as much time is needed to answer any student questions atthe end of the lecture. I would be happy if this student would ask his questions at the end but I don't want to make this a general policy since I do actually love taking most other questions during the class as they pop up.

Any ideas on how one could tackle this sort of situation diplomatically? I don't want to be unfair to this student, but also have the most positive experience for the rest of the class.

Of course, there's no good way I can think of to get the perspective of the rest of the students.

I teach an advanced engineering undergrad class online and typically I love and encourage students to ask questions both by unmuting as well as over chat.

I have never had this problem in earlier years, but this time around I have a student who asks so many questions that it's almost disruptive to the lecture flow. Many of his questions are also either simplistic / irrelevant / repetitive.

On the one hand, we have this precept that there is no such thing as a stupid or silly question. On the other hand I feel the amount and quality of questions this particular student is asking is not helping the class.

Meanwhile, I don't want to discourage the rest of the class from asking questions. I already offered to spend as much time is needed to answer any student questions at the end of the lecture. I would be happy if this student would ask his questions at the end but I don't want to make this a general policy since I do actually love taking most other questions during the class as they pop up.

Any ideas on how one could tackle this sort of situation diplomatically? I don't want to be unfair to this student, but also have the most positive experience for the rest of the class.

Of course, there's no good way I can think of to get the perspective of the rest of the students.

I teach an advanced engineering undergrad class online and typically I love and encourage students to ask questions both by unmuting as well as over chat.

I have never had this problem in earlier years, but this time around I have a student who asks so many questions that it's almost disruptive to the lecture flow. Many of his questions are also either simplistic / irrelevant / repetitive.

On the one hand, we have this precept that there is no such thing as a stupid or silly question. On the other hand I feel the amount and quality of questions this particular student is asking is not helping the class.

Meanwhile, I don't want any changes etc., to discourage the rest of the class from asking questions. I already offered to wait until the end of the lecture,spend as much time is needed to answer any student questions atthe end of the lecture. I would be happy if this student would ask his questions at the end but I don't want to make this a general policy since I do actually love taking most other questions DURINGduring the class as they pop up.

Any ideas on how one could tackle this sort of situation diplomatically? I don't want to be unfair to this student, but also have the most positive experience for the rest of the class.

Of course, there's no good way I can think of to get the perspective of the rest of the students.

I teach an advanced engineering undergrad class online and typically I love and encourage students to ask questions both by unmuting as well as over chat.

I have never had this problem in earlier years, but this time around I have a student who asks so many questions that it's almost disruptive to the lecture flow. Many of his questions are also either simplistic / irrelevant / repetitive.

On the one hand, we have this precept that there is no such thing as a stupid or silly question. On the other hand I feel the amount and quality of questions this particular student is asking is not helping the class.

Meanwhile, I don't want any changes etc., to discourage the rest of the class from asking questions. I already offered to wait until the end of the lecture, as much time is needed to answer any student questions. I would be happy if this student would ask his questions at the end but I don't want to make this a general policy since I do actually love taking most other questions DURING the class as they pop up.

Any ideas on how one could tackle this sort of situation diplomatically? I don't want to be unfair to this student, but also have the most positive experience for the rest of the class.

Of course, there's no good way I can think of to get the perspective of the rest of the students.

I teach an advanced engineering undergrad class online and typically I love and encourage students to ask questions both by unmuting as well as over chat.

I have never had this problem in earlier years, but this time around I have a student who asks so many questions that it's almost disruptive to the lecture flow. Many of his questions are also either simplistic / irrelevant / repetitive.

On the one hand, we have this precept that there is no such thing as a stupid or silly question. On the other hand I feel the amount and quality of questions this particular student is asking is not helping the class.

Meanwhile, I don't want to discourage the rest of the class from asking questions. I already offered to spend as much time is needed to answer any student questions atthe end of the lecture. I would be happy if this student would ask his questions at the end but I don't want to make this a general policy since I do actually love taking most other questions during the class as they pop up.

Any ideas on how one could tackle this sort of situation diplomatically? I don't want to be unfair to this student, but also have the most positive experience for the rest of the class.

Of course, there's no good way I can think of to get the perspective of the rest of the students.

Became Hot Network Question
Tweeted twitter.com/StackAcademia/status/1482276394084315136
added 32 characters in body
Source Link
Sursula
  • 21.8k
  • 8
  • 65
  • 128

I teach an advanced engineering undergrad class online and typically I love and encourage students to ask questions both by unmuting as well as over chat.

I have never had this problem in earlier years, but this time around I have a student who asks so many questions that it's almost disruptive to the lecture flow. Many of his questions are also either simplistic / irrelevant / repetitive.

On the one hand, we have this precept that there is no such thing as a stupid or silly question. On the other hand I feel the amount and quality of questions this particular student is asking is not helping the class.

Meanwhile, I don't want any changes etc., to discourage the rest of the class from asking questions. Already, I offeralready offered to wait until the end of the lecture, as much time is needed to answer any student questions. I would be happy if this student would ask his questions at the end but I don't want to make this a general policy since I do actually love taking most other questions DURING the class as they pop up.

Any ideas on how one could tackle this sort of situation diplomatically? I don't want to be unfair to this student, but also have the most positive experience for the rest of the class.

Of course, there's no good way I can think of to get the perspective of the rest of the students.

I teach an advanced engineering undergrad class online and typically I love and encourage students to ask questions both by unmuting as well as over chat.

I have never had this problem earlier years, but this time around I have a student who asks so many questions that it's almost disruptive to lecture flow. Many of his questions are also either simplistic / irrelevant / repetitive.

On one hand we have this precept that there is no such thing as a stupid or silly question. On the other hand I feel the amount and quality of questions this particular student is asking is not helping the class.

Meanwhile, I don't want any changes etc., to discourage the rest of the class from asking questions. Already, I offer to wait end of lecture as much time is needed to answer any student questions. I would be happy if this student would ask his questions at the end but I don't want to make this a general policy since I do actually love taking most other questions DURING the class as they pop up.

Any ideas how one could tackle this sort of situation diplomatically? I don't want to be unfair to this student but also have the most positive experience for the rest of the class.

Of course, there's no good way I can think of to get the perspective of the rest of the students.

I teach an advanced engineering undergrad class online and typically I love and encourage students to ask questions both by unmuting as well as over chat.

I have never had this problem in earlier years, but this time around I have a student who asks so many questions that it's almost disruptive to the lecture flow. Many of his questions are also either simplistic / irrelevant / repetitive.

On the one hand, we have this precept that there is no such thing as a stupid or silly question. On the other hand I feel the amount and quality of questions this particular student is asking is not helping the class.

Meanwhile, I don't want any changes etc., to discourage the rest of the class from asking questions. I already offered to wait until the end of the lecture, as much time is needed to answer any student questions. I would be happy if this student would ask his questions at the end but I don't want to make this a general policy since I do actually love taking most other questions DURING the class as they pop up.

Any ideas on how one could tackle this sort of situation diplomatically? I don't want to be unfair to this student, but also have the most positive experience for the rest of the class.

Of course, there's no good way I can think of to get the perspective of the rest of the students.

Source Link
curious_cat
  • 1.3k
  • 10
  • 16
Loading