Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackAcademia/status/1446853011528110086
edited tags
Link
Source Link

How to do research without being a star researcher?

After my PhD and postdoc in computer science I got a permanent position in a company's research lab. This is my first time to work without a supervisor nor colleagues (other members have there own, not related projects), and it is very difficult: I realize my previous successful projects were due to my advisor and colleagues, not me.

It's not the imposter syndrome: I'm not a star; I'm very slow and stupid; I've contributed mostly to the implementation/experiments to my few papers; I've been told I should give up, I don't have any chance in the academic world, I miss important crucial points and I spend too much time in implementation details.

While sometimes I think I have interesting ideas to pursue, I do not have enough knowledge to put them in practice and other brilliant researchers are quicker to publish a better solution than what I would have done (this happened a few times). So I end up watching youtube videos or playing games because what's the point, everything I do will be bad. Unfortunately brilliant researchers don't have time nor incentive to help.

Are there other researchers in the same situation? How do you build up confidence and get back to work?

PS: I'm in Asia.