Skip to main content
Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by Buzz, GoodDeeds, Jon Custer, enthu, Richard Erickson
More concise
Source Link

What physics background is necessary for pursuing a PhD in Mathematical Physics (Topology/Geometry)?

I studied Mechanical Engineering in my undergrad and have a minor in Mathematics. I have taken the standard sequence of physics up to modern physics with quantum mechanics and special relativity. I also covered a lot of engineering related physics like thermodynamics 1 & 2, fluids, heat transfer, dynamics etc..

However, ifIf I wanted to do research related to the topology and geometry of space or their applications in quantum mechanics or general relativity, would it be possible to do that from a Mathematician’s POV without the upper level undergad physics typically required?

I would be doing a M.S. in the first 2 years and might be able to take some courses that are necessary but I don’t think I’ll be able to take too many electives.

What physics background is necessary for pursuing a PhD in Mathematical Physics (Topology/Geometry)?

I studied Mechanical Engineering in my undergrad and have a minor in Mathematics. I have taken the standard sequence of physics up to modern physics with quantum mechanics and special relativity. I also covered a lot of engineering related physics like thermodynamics 1 & 2, fluids, heat transfer, dynamics etc..

However, if I wanted to do research related to the topology and geometry of space or their applications in quantum mechanics or general relativity, would it be possible to do that from a Mathematician’s POV without the upper level undergad physics typically required?

I would be doing a M.S. in the first 2 years and might be able to take some courses that are necessary but I don’t think I’ll be able to take too many electives.

What physics background is necessary for pursuing a PhD in Mathematical Physics?

If I wanted to do research related to the topology and geometry of space or their applications in quantum mechanics or general relativity, would it be possible to do that from a Mathematician’s POV without the upper level undergad physics typically required?

What physics background is necessary for Mathpursuing a PhD in Mathematical Physics (Topology/Geometry)?

Source Link

What physics background is necessary for Math PhD in Mathematical Physics (Topology/Geometry)?

I studied Mechanical Engineering in my undergrad and have a minor in Mathematics. I have taken the standard sequence of physics up to modern physics with quantum mechanics and special relativity. I also covered a lot of engineering related physics like thermodynamics 1 & 2, fluids, heat transfer, dynamics etc..

However, if I wanted to do research related to the topology and geometry of space or their applications in quantum mechanics or general relativity, would it be possible to do that from a Mathematician’s POV without the upper level undergad physics typically required?

I would be doing a M.S. in the first 2 years and might be able to take some courses that are necessary but I don’t think I’ll be able to take too many electives.