Skip to main content
added 1 character in body
Source Link
Ian Sudbery
  • 41.8k
  • 2
  • 97
  • 148

Technically, yes. All authors must signal they are happy for a paper to be published before it can be submitted. Some journals will require specific acknowledgement of this from each author, others rely on the communicating author to accept this on behalf of the other authors.

So in theory, you could just say "I will nonot authorize the publication of this paper until I am first author". If they submit it anyway, you can write to the journal and say "I am not happy for this paper to be published with me as an author". Don't say why, because almost all journals have a policy on not weighing in on authorship disputes. justJust say, I am an author, and I don't agree with it being published.

There are several risks to this. The primary one is that you are removed from the authorship list entirely. This, in theory, would be a pretty outrageous case of academic misconduct, but your only recourse would be to complain to the communicating author's institution, and try to get them to start a misconduct investigation. This would probably be long, protracted, bruising for all involved and would be far from guaranteed to find in your favour.

Technically, yes. All authors must signal they are happy for a paper to be published before it can be submitted. Some journals will require specific acknowledgement of this from each author, others rely on the communicating author to accept this on behalf of the other authors.

So in theory, you could just say "I will no authorize the publication of this paper until I am first author". If they submit it anyway, you can write to the journal and say "I am not happy for this paper to be published with me as an author". Don't say why, because almost all journals have a policy on not weighing in on authorship disputes. just say, I am an author, and I don't agree with it being published.

There are several risks to this. The primary one is that you are removed from the authorship list entirely. This, in theory, would be a pretty outrageous case of academic misconduct, but your only recourse would be to complain to the communicating author's institution, and try to get them to start a misconduct investigation. This would probably be long, protracted, bruising for all involved and would be far from guaranteed to find in your favour.

Technically, yes. All authors must signal they are happy for a paper to be published before it can be submitted. Some journals will require specific acknowledgement of this from each author, others rely on the communicating author to accept this on behalf of the other authors.

So in theory, you could just say "I will not authorize the publication of this paper until I am first author". If they submit it anyway, you can write to the journal and say "I am not happy for this paper to be published with me as an author". Don't say why, because almost all journals have a policy on not weighing in on authorship disputes. Just say, I am an author, and I don't agree with it being published.

There are several risks to this. The primary one is that you are removed from the authorship list entirely. This, in theory, would be a pretty outrageous case of academic misconduct, but your only recourse would be to complain to the communicating author's institution, and try to get them to start a misconduct investigation. This would probably be long, protracted, bruising for all involved and would be far from guaranteed to find in your favour.

changed happy to unhappy
Source Link
xLeitix
  • 136k
  • 46
  • 337
  • 496

Technically, yes. All authors must signal they are happy for a paper to be published before it can be submitted. Some journals will require specific acknowledgement of this from each author, others rely on the communicating author to accept this on behalf of the other authors.

So in theory, you could just say "I will no authorize the publication of this paper until I am first author". If they submit it anyway, you can write to the journal and say "I am disappointednot happy for this paper to be published with me as an author". Don't say why, because almost all journals have a policy on not weighing in on authorship disputes. just say, I am an author, and I don't agree with it being published.

There are several risks to this. The primary one is that you are removed from the authorship list entirely. This, in theory, would be a pretty outrageous case of academic misconduct, but your only recourse would be to complain to the communicating author's institution, and try to get them to start a misconduct investigation. This would probably be long, protracted, bruising for all involved and would be far from guaranteed to find in your favour.

Technically, yes. All authors must signal they are happy for a paper to be published before it can be submitted. Some journals will require specific acknowledgement of this from each author, others rely on the communicating author to accept this on behalf of the other authors.

So in theory, you could just say "I will no authorize the publication of this paper until I am first author". If they submit it anyway, you can write to the journal and say "I am disappointed for this paper to be published with me as an author". Don't say why, because almost all journals have a policy on not weighing in on authorship disputes. just say, I am an author, and I don't agree with it being published.

There are several risks to this. The primary one is that you are removed from the authorship list entirely. This, in theory, would be a pretty outrageous case of academic misconduct, but your only recourse would be to complain to the communicating author's institution, and try to get them to start a misconduct investigation. This would probably be long, protracted, bruising for all involved and would be far from guaranteed to find in your favour.

Technically, yes. All authors must signal they are happy for a paper to be published before it can be submitted. Some journals will require specific acknowledgement of this from each author, others rely on the communicating author to accept this on behalf of the other authors.

So in theory, you could just say "I will no authorize the publication of this paper until I am first author". If they submit it anyway, you can write to the journal and say "I am not happy for this paper to be published with me as an author". Don't say why, because almost all journals have a policy on not weighing in on authorship disputes. just say, I am an author, and I don't agree with it being published.

There are several risks to this. The primary one is that you are removed from the authorship list entirely. This, in theory, would be a pretty outrageous case of academic misconduct, but your only recourse would be to complain to the communicating author's institution, and try to get them to start a misconduct investigation. This would probably be long, protracted, bruising for all involved and would be far from guaranteed to find in your favour.

Technically, yes. All authors must signal they are happy for a paper to be published before it can be submitted. Some journals will require specific acknowledgement of this from each author, others rely on the communicating author to accept this on behalf of the other authors.

So in theory, you could just say "I will no authorize the publication of this paper until I am first author". If they submit it anyway, you can write to the journal and say "I am happydisappointed for this paper to be published with me as an author". Don't say why, because almost all journals have a policy on not weighing in on authorship disputes. just say, I am an author, and I don't agree with it being published.

There are several risks to this. The primary one is that you are removed from the authorship list entirely. This, in theory, would be a pretty outrageous case of academic misconduct, but your only recourse would be to complain to the communicating author's institution, and try to get them to start a misconduct investigation. This would probably be long, protracted, bruising for all involved and would be far from guaranteed to find in your favour.

Technically, yes. All authors must signal they are happy for a paper to be published before it can be submitted. Some journals will require specific acknowledgement of this from each author, others rely on the communicating author to accept this on behalf of the other authors.

So in theory, you could just say "I will no authorize the publication of this paper until I am first author". If they submit it anyway, you can write to the journal and say "I am happy for this paper to be published with me as an author". Don't say why, because almost all journals have a policy on not weighing in on authorship disputes. just say, I am an author, and I don't agree with it being published.

There are several risks to this. The primary one is that you are removed from the authorship list entirely. This, in theory, would be a pretty outrageous case of academic misconduct, but your only recourse would be to complain to the communicating author's institution, and try to get them to start a misconduct investigation. This would probably be long, protracted, bruising for all involved and would be far from guaranteed to find in your favour.

Technically, yes. All authors must signal they are happy for a paper to be published before it can be submitted. Some journals will require specific acknowledgement of this from each author, others rely on the communicating author to accept this on behalf of the other authors.

So in theory, you could just say "I will no authorize the publication of this paper until I am first author". If they submit it anyway, you can write to the journal and say "I am disappointed for this paper to be published with me as an author". Don't say why, because almost all journals have a policy on not weighing in on authorship disputes. just say, I am an author, and I don't agree with it being published.

There are several risks to this. The primary one is that you are removed from the authorship list entirely. This, in theory, would be a pretty outrageous case of academic misconduct, but your only recourse would be to complain to the communicating author's institution, and try to get them to start a misconduct investigation. This would probably be long, protracted, bruising for all involved and would be far from guaranteed to find in your favour.

Source Link
Ian Sudbery
  • 41.8k
  • 2
  • 97
  • 148
Loading