Skip to main content
deleted 3 characters in body
Source Link
Sursula
  • 21.8k
  • 8
  • 65
  • 128

Long story short. I was the first author of a research manuscript submitted but rejected previously. I am the main contributor of all stages of the research from planning and research question to running the entire analysis, writing up the report and manuscript, and presentation. Since I left my previous job, someone took over. However, it is underwas the unspoken assumption that I amwould be still the first author for the next journal submission. When I receivereceived the slightly changed manuscript which is primarily based off of my original manuscript, I found out that I was pushed into the second author position. What are my options? 

I am going to confront with my previous team since the current first author only oversaw the research at high level and haven'thas not written neither the first nor the second manuscript,. I feel putting this person as first author is an offense of academic integrity and ethical standards. Do I have the authority to block all the publication of this manuscript if this is not resolved justly?

Long story short. I was the first author of a research manuscript submitted but rejected previously. I am the main contributor of all stages of the research from planning and research question to running the entire analysis, writing up the report and manuscript, and presentation. Since I left my previous job, someone took over. However, it is under the unspoken assumption that I am still the first author for the next journal submission. When I receive the slightly changed manuscript which is primarily based off of my original manuscript, I found out that I was pushed into the second author position. What are my options? I am going to confront with my previous team since the current first author only oversaw the research at high level and haven't written neither the first nor the second manuscript, I feel putting this person as first author is an offense of academic integrity and ethical standards. Do I have the authority to block all the publication of this manuscript if this is not resolved justly?

Long story short. I was the first author of a research manuscript submitted but rejected previously. I am the main contributor of all stages of the research from planning and research question to running the entire analysis, writing up the report and manuscript, and presentation. Since I left my previous job, someone took over. However, it was the unspoken assumption that I would be still the first author for the next journal submission. When I received the slightly changed manuscript which is primarily based off of my original manuscript, I found out that I was pushed into the second author position. What are my options? 

I am going to confront my previous team since the current first author only oversaw the research at high level and has not written neither the first nor the second manuscript. I feel putting this person as first author is an offense of academic integrity and ethical standards. Do I have the authority to block the publication of this manuscript if this is not resolved justly?

Source Link

What options are there for main research contributor who doesn't agree with the order of authorship on a manuscript?

Long story short. I was the first author of a research manuscript submitted but rejected previously. I am the main contributor of all stages of the research from planning and research question to running the entire analysis, writing up the report and manuscript, and presentation. Since I left my previous job, someone took over. However, it is under the unspoken assumption that I am still the first author for the next journal submission. When I receive the slightly changed manuscript which is primarily based off of my original manuscript, I found out that I was pushed into the second author position. What are my options? I am going to confront with my previous team since the current first author only oversaw the research at high level and haven't written neither the first nor the second manuscript, I feel putting this person as first author is an offense of academic integrity and ethical standards. Do I have the authority to block all the publication of this manuscript if this is not resolved justly?