Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

9
  • 32
    +1 I really sympathise with this feeling. My PhD was very computational rather than theoretical (physics) and nowadays I too make silly/trivial algebra and calculus mistakes. I'm hoping there's a better solution than just revising undergrad algebra/calculus and doing practice problems... Commented May 22, 2021 at 14:32
  • 9
  • 16
    'physics students only use certain mathematical methods, so once you learn how to do those (all of which can be done via Mathematica)' Caution: I once wasted several months examining the details of what I thought was a novel solution I'd got to a theoretical physics problem, but was actually an artefact of two independent computer algebra systems giving the same wrong answer for the lead coefficient in a Fourier series ansatz for a partial differential equation. Don't get me wrong, I remain a big fan of computer algebra, but one always has to have some human verification. Commented May 22, 2021 at 15:49
  • 1
    @DanielHatton Thanks for sharing your experience. That is true; human verification is important, but even in that case the mathematics used in most of (bio)physics research is really not advanced. It is just a re-usage same method in different ways over and over again.
    – Our
    Commented May 22, 2021 at 15:52
  • 3
    this is just to say that I know how it feels and my sympathy is totally with the TS. Whether you gain your skill back or not, I hope you find a way to make your peace with it. Realizing that you were good at something but aren't anymore can be a terrible feeling.
    – sleepy
    Commented May 22, 2021 at 17:44