Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 31, 2020 at 14:51 review Suggested edits
May 31, 2020 at 16:25
May 31, 2020 at 13:18 history edited Trunk CC BY-SA 4.0
Addendum on receipt of later information
May 31, 2020 at 11:50 comment added Trunk @user111388 - But it IS a limitation with this would-be member of the faculty. As you say, there are other things. For one thing, a natural facility with teaching can heavily offset it. As can a proven capability in his/her research. These aptitudes are things that are independent of location. But my impression is that Gemini is capable of relocation - he/she just doesn't want to. That's what I don't get. And that's what makes me question his/her suitability for this vocation in the long run.
May 31, 2020 at 11:36 comment added user111388 @Teunk: of course, collegues can not help in those situations. But you make it sound like "not wanting to travel" (which could be because of obligations) means "not open to new ideas" which means "bad researcher". This is not true.
May 31, 2020 at 11:18 history edited Trunk CC BY-SA 4.0
Complete sentence punctuation.
May 31, 2020 at 11:15 comment added Trunk @user111388 - having a partner who is permanently located in a city is a reason why someone might want to remain there. As is having elderly or dependent parent(s). The partner situation is our own making and we all must find a solution to that without claiming any advantage over other candidates for appointments/interviews. Parental obligations are not something that any college can set precedents for in the case of new applicants - they already have enough personal situations to accommodate and really don't need more. In fairness, most colleges help existing staff-members with in hardship.
May 31, 2020 at 11:02 comment added Trunk @Gemini - You just miss the entire point about relocating. It's NOT like travelling. It's for real. A whole new permanent horizon that you have to engage with and find a place in, way away from your comfort zone. This is a challenge for sure. But I think it's in the same category of challenge as facing a whole new class (often including many foreign students) every fall. if you are up for one, why not be up for another ?
May 31, 2020 at 10:56 comment added Trunk @Anton Menshov - I raised nationality/ethnic background solely because of Gemini's excess deference to the opinion of his/her supervisor. Since this is very rare in most western students I think it is fair to speculate on this and to encourage Gemini to assert his/her own independence of decision.
May 31, 2020 at 8:56 comment added user111388 Having a partner or people to care about (parents?) can also be a reason not to want to change cities. This is not something "bad" and does not mean that one is not open to new cultures. (Also, most of my foreign collegues (who are here for 1-2 years) do not learn the language, don't have any nonacademic friends -- they do not get to know a new culture).
May 31, 2020 at 5:06 comment added user124395 Additionally, I fail to see how not wanting to move means that I'm not open to new ideas or don't appreciate other cultures.
May 31, 2020 at 4:43 comment added user124395 @Trunk- I'm a caucasian American and a nontraditional age student wanting to go into a humanities field. I was deliberately vague about my field because I've shared a specific situation with a professor, and it would be easy to figure out her identity if I shared the field or more specific info. My aversion to relocation is indeed because I love this city and not due to parental pressure. I'm also not originally from my current city and state, but I've been traveling here and have loved it my whole life, and I can't see myself living anywhere else.
May 31, 2020 at 3:51 comment added Anton Menshov I honestly don't appreciate bringing nationality/generations guesses and generalizations in your answer and would appreciate if you remove them.
May 31, 2020 at 3:34 history edited Trunk CC BY-SA 4.0
added 2 characters in body
May 31, 2020 at 3:23 history answered Trunk CC BY-SA 4.0