Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

9
  • 5
    I honestly don't appreciate bringing nationality/generations guesses and generalizations in your answer and would appreciate if you remove them. Commented May 31, 2020 at 3:51
  • 2
    @Trunk- I'm a caucasian American and a nontraditional age student wanting to go into a humanities field. I was deliberately vague about my field because I've shared a specific situation with a professor, and it would be easy to figure out her identity if I shared the field or more specific info. My aversion to relocation is indeed because I love this city and not due to parental pressure. I'm also not originally from my current city and state, but I've been traveling here and have loved it my whole life, and I can't see myself living anywhere else.
    – user124395
    Commented May 31, 2020 at 4:43
  • 3
    Additionally, I fail to see how not wanting to move means that I'm not open to new ideas or don't appreciate other cultures.
    – user124395
    Commented May 31, 2020 at 5:06
  • 2
    Having a partner or people to care about (parents?) can also be a reason not to want to change cities. This is not something "bad" and does not mean that one is not open to new cultures. (Also, most of my foreign collegues (who are here for 1-2 years) do not learn the language, don't have any nonacademic friends -- they do not get to know a new culture).
    – user111388
    Commented May 31, 2020 at 8:56
  • 1
    @Anton Menshov - I raised nationality/ethnic background solely because of Gemini's excess deference to the opinion of his/her supervisor. Since this is very rare in most western students I think it is fair to speculate on this and to encourage Gemini to assert his/her own independence of decision.
    – Trunk
    Commented May 31, 2020 at 10:56