Skip to main content
some minor fixes
Source Link
user41207
user41207

I work in Engineeringan engineering field, and my PhD students often do what you describedescribed. In my opinion, you should be the first author. because

  • you have set the problemproblem;
  • you have set the outline of the solution and supervised the studentstudent;
  • you have composed the paper.

To allowgrant the master student first authorship to a master student, theyshe usually needneeds to:

  • contribute at least contribute to the development some novel ideasideas;
  • take most of the writing burden.

I work in Engineering and my PhD students often do what you describe. In my opinion, you should be the first author.

  • you have set the problem
  • you have set the outline of the solution and supervised the student
  • you have composed the paper

To allow the master student first authorship, they usually need to:

  • contribute at least some novel ideas
  • take most of the writing burden

I work in an engineering field, and my PhD students often do what you described. In my opinion, you should be the first author because

  • you have set the problem;
  • you have set the outline of the solution and supervised the student;
  • you have composed the paper.

To grant the first authorship to a master student, she usually needs to

  • at least contribute to the development some novel ideas;
  • take most of the writing burden.
Source Link
electrique
  • 7.6k
  • 9
  • 34
  • 43

I work in Engineering and my PhD students often do what you describe. In my opinion, you should be the first author.

  • you have set the problem
  • you have set the outline of the solution and supervised the student
  • you have composed the paper

To allow the master student first authorship, they usually need to:

  • contribute at least some novel ideas
  • take most of the writing burden