Skip to main content
Question Protected by Alexandros
Improve wording and grammar
Source Link
user68958
user68958

I (as a Ph.D. student) supervised a Mastersmasters project.

In particular, I defined the problem statement and prepared a sketch of the solution, that is, the steps which had to be done to achieve the solution. The masters student basically followed those steps which were mostly programming implementations. I composed the paper. Now, the paper is ready to be published, and I'm in a dilemma in selecting the first author of the paper.

On the one hand, I feel I am the right one because I solved the critical part of the problem, and the student just implemented what I had already planned. On the other hand, he may want to apply for a graduate position later, and I understand that he would morally expect to be the first author as this paper is his only serious research output. My supervisor left the issue to me by stating that my opinion would be his.

We unfortunately didn't set any specific set of expectations beforehand, particularly regarding papers and authorships.

According to a neutral mind, who most deserves to be the first author?

PS. The field is electrical engineering.

I (as a Ph.D. student) supervised a Masters project.

In particular, I defined the problem statement and prepared a sketch of the solution, that is, the steps which had to be done to achieve the solution. The masters student basically followed those steps which were mostly programming implementations. I composed the paper. Now, the paper is ready to be published, and I'm in a dilemma in selecting the first author of the paper.

On the one hand, I feel I am the right one because I solved the critical part of the problem, and the student just implemented what I had already planned. On the other hand, he may want to apply for a graduate position later, and I understand that he would morally expect to be the first author as this paper is his only serious research output. My supervisor left the issue to me by stating that my opinion would be his.

We unfortunately didn't set any specific set of expectations beforehand, particularly regarding papers and authorships.

According to a neutral mind, who most deserves to be the first author?

PS. The field is electrical engineering.

I (as a Ph.D. student) supervised a masters project.

In particular, I defined the problem statement and prepared a sketch of the solution, that is, the steps which had to be done to achieve the solution. The masters student basically followed those steps which were mostly programming implementations. I composed the paper. Now, the paper is ready to be published, and I'm in a dilemma in selecting the first author of the paper.

On the one hand, I feel I am the right one because I solved the critical part of the problem, and the student just implemented what I had already planned. On the other hand, he may want to apply for a graduate position later, and I understand that he would morally expect to be the first author as this paper is his only serious research output. My supervisor left the issue to me by stating that my opinion would be his.

We unfortunately didn't set any specific set of expectations beforehand, particularly regarding papers and authorships.

According to a neutral mind, who most deserves to be the first author?

PS. The field is electrical engineering.

Should I leave the first authourshipauthorship of our paper to the student who did the project whereas I solved it?

I (as a Ph.D. student) supervised a masterMasters project.

In particular, I defined the problem statement and prepared a sketch of the solution, saythat is, the steps which havehad to be done to achieve the solution. The mastermasters student basically pacedfollowed those steps which were mostly programming implementations. I composed the paper. Now, the paper is ready to be published, and I'm in a dilemma in selecting the first author of the paper.

On the one hand, I feel myselfI am the right one because I solved the critical part of the problem, and the student just implemented what I had already planned. On the other hand, he may want to apply for a graduate position later, and I understand that he would morally expect to be the first author as this paper is his only serious research touchoutput. My supervisor left the issue to myselfme by stating that my opinion would be his.

We unfortunately didn't set any specific set of expectations beforehand, particularly regarding papers and authorships.

According to a neutral mind, who does deserve moremost deserves to be the first author?

PS. The field is electrical engineering.

Should I leave the first authourship of our paper to the student who did the project whereas I solved it?

I (as a Ph.D. student) supervised a master project.

In particular, I defined the problem statement and prepared a sketch of the solution, say, the steps which have to be done to achieve the solution. The master student basically paced those steps which were mostly programming implementations. I composed the paper. Now, the paper is ready to be published, and I'm in a dilemma in selecting the first author of the paper.

On the one hand, I feel myself the right one because I solved the critical part of the problem, and the student just implemented what I had already planned. On the other hand, he may want to apply for a graduate position later, and I understand that he would morally expect to be the first author as this paper is his only serious research touch. My supervisor left the issue to myself by stating that my opinion would be his.

We unfortunately didn't set any specific set of expectations beforehand, particularly regarding papers and authorships.

According to a neutral mind, who does deserve more to be the first author?

PS. The field is electrical engineering.

Should I leave the first authorship of our paper to the student who did the project whereas I solved it?

I (as a Ph.D. student) supervised a Masters project.

In particular, I defined the problem statement and prepared a sketch of the solution, that is, the steps which had to be done to achieve the solution. The masters student basically followed those steps which were mostly programming implementations. I composed the paper. Now, the paper is ready to be published, and I'm in a dilemma in selecting the first author of the paper.

On the one hand, I feel I am the right one because I solved the critical part of the problem, and the student just implemented what I had already planned. On the other hand, he may want to apply for a graduate position later, and I understand that he would morally expect to be the first author as this paper is his only serious research output. My supervisor left the issue to me by stating that my opinion would be his.

We unfortunately didn't set any specific set of expectations beforehand, particularly regarding papers and authorships.

According to a neutral mind, who most deserves to be the first author?

PS. The field is electrical engineering.

Became Hot Network Question
Added some clarifications from the comments, and paragraphs
Source Link
Bryan Krause
  • 123.1k
  • 29
  • 354
  • 453

I (as a Ph.D. student) supervised a master project. 

In particular, I defined the problem statement and prepared a sketch of the solution, say, the steps which have to be done to achieve the solution. The master student basically paced those steps which were mostly programming implementations. I composed the paper. Now, athe paper is supposedready to be published from the results, and I'm in a dilemma in selecting the first author of the paper. 

On the one hand, I feel myself the right one because I solved the critical part of the problem, and the student just implemented what I had already planned. On the other hand, he may want to apply for a graduate position later, and I understand that he would morally expect to be the first author as this paper is his only serious research touch. My supervisor left the issue to myself by stating that my opinion would be his.

We unfortunately didn't set any specific set of expectations beforehand, particularly regarding papers and authorships.

According to a neutral mind, who does deserve more to be the first author?

PS. The field is STEMelectrical engineering.

I (as a Ph.D. student) supervised a master project. In particular, I defined the problem statement and prepared a sketch of the solution, say, the steps which have to be done to achieve the solution. The master student basically paced those steps which were mostly programming implementations. Now, a paper is supposed to be published from the results, and I'm in a dilemma in selecting the first author of the paper. On the one hand, I feel myself the right one because I solved the critical part of the problem, and the student just implemented what I had already planned. On the other hand, he may want to apply for a graduate position later, and I understand that he would morally expect to be the first author as this paper is his only serious research touch. My supervisor left the issue to myself by stating that my opinion would be his.

According to a neutral mind, who does deserve more to be the first author?

PS. The field is STEM.

I (as a Ph.D. student) supervised a master project. 

In particular, I defined the problem statement and prepared a sketch of the solution, say, the steps which have to be done to achieve the solution. The master student basically paced those steps which were mostly programming implementations. I composed the paper. Now, the paper is ready to be published, and I'm in a dilemma in selecting the first author of the paper. 

On the one hand, I feel myself the right one because I solved the critical part of the problem, and the student just implemented what I had already planned. On the other hand, he may want to apply for a graduate position later, and I understand that he would morally expect to be the first author as this paper is his only serious research touch. My supervisor left the issue to myself by stating that my opinion would be his.

We unfortunately didn't set any specific set of expectations beforehand, particularly regarding papers and authorships.

According to a neutral mind, who does deserve more to be the first author?

PS. The field is electrical engineering.

Tweeted twitter.com/StackAcademia/status/1171438313758056448
Source Link
Pinton
  • 591
  • 1
  • 5
  • 11
Loading