Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
cag51
  • 70.5k
  • 26
  • 190
  • 260
edited body
Source Link
cag51
  • 70.5k
  • 26
  • 190
  • 260

I am trying and failing to find a particular paper. My university's library catalogue, Google Scholar, and Google all came up empty. I even tried the catalogue of the paper's institutional affiliation, but they didn't have it either. It's possible the paper really has been lost forever, but I find this unlikely; it is a significant paper that still gets citations. What other avenues exist for finding this paper?

Note to readers: this is a frequently-asked question and so we have compiled this "canonical" post to amalgamate some of our best answers on this topic (per thisthis meta discussion). Questions requesting individualized help finding a particular source will be closed as a duplicate of this: we hope these "hints" will be helpful, but tracking down individual papers is not our role.

I am trying and failing to find a particular paper. My university's library catalogue, Google Scholar, and Google all came up empty. I even tried the catalogue of the paper's institutional affiliation, but they didn't have it either. It's possible the paper really has been lost forever, but I find this unlikely; it is a significant paper that still gets citations. What other avenues exist for finding this paper?

Note to readers: this is a frequently-asked question and so we have compiled this "canonical" post to amalgamate some of our best answers on this topic (per this meta discussion). Questions requesting individualized help finding a particular source will be closed as a duplicate of this: we hope these "hints" will be helpful, but tracking down individual papers is not our role.

I am trying and failing to find a particular paper. My university's library catalogue, Google Scholar, and Google all came up empty. I even tried the catalogue of the paper's institutional affiliation, but they didn't have it either. It's possible the paper really has been lost forever, but I find this unlikely; it is a significant paper that still gets citations. What other avenues exist for finding this paper?

Note to readers: this is a frequently-asked question and so we have compiled this "canonical" post to amalgamate some of our best answers on this topic (per this meta discussion). Questions requesting individualized help finding a particular source will be closed as a duplicate of this: we hope these "hints" will be helpful, but tracking down individual papers is not our role.

canonicalize
Source Link
cag51
  • 70.5k
  • 26
  • 190
  • 260

How can I find an old, obscure, or otherwise inaccessible paper when the usual methods fail?

I am trying and failing to find thea particular paper "The resistance of pure mercury at helium temperatures" by Heike Kamerlingh Onnes. It was published in the Communications from the Laboratory of Physics at the University of Leiden in 1911.

This is the first publication of the discovery of superconductivity and it is cited in many texts dealing with the subject. However, I was unsuccessful in finding the actual content of the paper with the methods: My university's library catalogue, Google Scholar, and Google all came up empty. I even tried the catalogue of Leiden Universitythe paper's institutional affiliation, but no luck therethey didn't have it either.

Due to the significance of the paper and the fact that Leiden University still exists, I am fairly certain that It's possible the paper is notreally has been lost completely andforever, but I am just unable to find this unlikely; it is a significant paper that still gets citations.

Are there any What other resources I can use to get ahold ofavenues exist for finding this paper?

Note to readers: this is a frequently-asked question and so we have compiled this "canonical" post to amalgamate some of our best answers on this topic (per this meta discussion). Questions requesting individualized help finding a particular source will be closed as a duplicate of this: we hope these "hints" will be helpful, but tracking down individual papers is not our role.

How can I find an old paper when the usual methods fail?

I am trying to find the paper "The resistance of pure mercury at helium temperatures" by Heike Kamerlingh Onnes. It was published in the Communications from the Laboratory of Physics at the University of Leiden in 1911.

This is the first publication of the discovery of superconductivity and it is cited in many texts dealing with the subject. However, I was unsuccessful in finding the actual content of the paper with the methods: My university's library catalogue, Google Scholar and Google. I even tried the catalogue of Leiden University, but no luck there either.

Due to the significance of the paper and the fact that Leiden University still exists, I am fairly certain that the paper is not lost completely and I am just unable to find it.

Are there any other resources I can use to get ahold of this paper?

How can I find an old, obscure, or otherwise inaccessible paper when the usual methods fail?

I am trying and failing to find a particular paper. My university's library catalogue, Google Scholar, and Google all came up empty. I even tried the catalogue of the paper's institutional affiliation, but they didn't have it either. It's possible the paper really has been lost forever, but I find this unlikely; it is a significant paper that still gets citations. What other avenues exist for finding this paper?

Note to readers: this is a frequently-asked question and so we have compiled this "canonical" post to amalgamate some of our best answers on this topic (per this meta discussion). Questions requesting individualized help finding a particular source will be closed as a duplicate of this: we hope these "hints" will be helpful, but tracking down individual papers is not our role.

Post Merged (destination) from academia.stackexchange.com/questions/7797/…
edited tags
Link
einpoklum
  • 39.4k
  • 6
  • 77
  • 195
Loading
Became Hot Network Question
Tweeted twitter.com/StackAcademia/status/1161381969642569730
Source Link
schtandard
  • 611
  • 5
  • 8
Loading