Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 13, 2019 at 17:59 comment added Daniel Li Ok. Sounds great. It has been less than a week since my last email so I will wait just a few days. I'm just too susceptible to anxiety. Thank you so much!
Aug 13, 2019 at 17:56 comment added Nate Eldredge @DanielLi: Wait a week and send another one. Then try to call on the phone or visit him in person.
Aug 13, 2019 at 17:55 vote accept Daniel Li
Aug 13, 2019 at 17:55 comment added Daniel Li Thank you, Professor Eldredge. That makes sense. Do you have any suggestions if the email is ignored the second time around?
Aug 13, 2019 at 17:50 comment added Nate Eldredge It is never too early to ask about a reference. At worst he will ask you to remind him again when it gets closer. I don't see anything "desperate" about any of this, nor do I think it would be a problem if there were. On the other hand, waiting till September gives him only about a month of time for the letter, which is almost too little and may be an inconvenience for him. By asking now, you give him the option to work on the letter during the summer, when he may be less busy than during the term.
Aug 13, 2019 at 17:48 comment added Daniel Li I thought it might be a little too early since I will not submit application until October. My thought now is to wait till September and send a second email explaining that I understood he was busy in the summer etc. I'm worried that follow-up with another email immediately and further asking for a reference may seem too "desperate".
Aug 13, 2019 at 17:40 history answered Nate Eldredge CC BY-SA 4.0