Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 10, 2018 at 23:22 vote accept Jibbity jobby
Sep 11, 2018 at 13:12
Sep 10, 2018 at 23:22 comment added Jibbity jobby OK, my supervisor likes to keep a tight rein. I sent a polite email to them stating that I'll contact the editors tomorrow. If I hear no objections I'll go ahead and let them know. Yes, I'm inexperienced here and your advice has relaxed me. Thanks.
Sep 10, 2018 at 23:21 comment added Azor Ahai -him- Honestly, if your prof just messed up because they were busy (likely) they will appreciate you fixing it over you making them do it.
Sep 10, 2018 at 23:20 comment added Nate Eldredge @JibbityJobby: That clause is mean to dissuade people from offering "gift authorship" or renegotiating ordering after the fact. If there was already clear agreement among the authors and it was simply miscommunicated to the journal, the journal has an ethical duty to make it right.
Sep 10, 2018 at 23:18 comment added Nate Eldredge @JibbityJobby: I agree it would have been nice for him to just do it, but in the big scheme of things, it's really a minor bureaucratic issue, which I think may seem more significant to you because you haven't been through the process so many times. And I would view "corresponding author screwed up the form" as an exceptional circumstance, especially since the discrepancy between form and manuscript will make it clear that something is not right.
Sep 10, 2018 at 23:15 comment added Jibbity jobby Thank you Hanlon's Razor perhaps makes sense but it would have been nice for the supervisor to state that they will sort out the double mistake ASAP. Also, it states in the journal guide: ""Only in exceptional circumstances will the Editor consider the addition, deletion or rearrangement of authors after the manuscript has been accepted.", so I don't think it's a good idea to sit this one out until perhaps too late.
Sep 10, 2018 at 23:09 history answered Nate Eldredge CC BY-SA 4.0