Skip to main content
added 1 character in body
Source Link
Basj
  • 211
  • 1
  • 5

There are already great answers about the specific points 1 to 5.

I'll answer about the general tone of your draft: since I started teaching at university (but this would be true anywhere I think), I noticed the importance of having a positive attitude with students.

By this, I mean, when you start a course with new students, you have to be positive a priori and open-minded to them (except when you have the evidence of someone being in violation with your rules, but even in this case, a positive and professional attitude helphelps to solve the problem).

Students feel when the lecturer has a benevolent attitude, and then usually everything is going well.

On the other hand, if I was a student and read your draft, these words:

  • "If you can't ..., please withdraw."

  • "whining"

  • "will not be tolerated"

  • "not just to "know it"

  • "I suspect"

  • "have cheated"

  • "disruptive"

  • "problem"

would make me feel:

  • that the lecturer probably doesn't really like his job/what he's doing, because most terms are negative; he mainly see problems instead of focusing on the interesting part of his job

  • that the lecturer isn't very professional (come on, everybody has problems at work and that's the role of a worker to solve them in an intelligent manner, and not whine about it – in fact you don't want students whining in your course, but you're whining about potential problems that might arise in your course with your draft syllabus, even before the course has started!)

  • that the lecturer has an a priori bad feeling about me (as a student)

That will obviously discourage even good students to choose your course.

There are already great answers about the specific points 1 to 5.

I'll answer about the general tone of your draft: since I started teaching at university (but this would be true anywhere I think), I noticed the importance of having a positive attitude with students.

By this, I mean, when you start a course with new students, you have to be positive a priori and open-minded to them (except when you have the evidence of someone being in violation with your rules, but even in this case, a positive and professional attitude help to solve the problem).

Students feel when the lecturer has a benevolent attitude, and then usually everything is going well.

On the other hand, if I was a student and read your draft, these words:

  • "If you can't ..., please withdraw."

  • "whining"

  • "will not be tolerated"

  • "not just to "know it"

  • "I suspect"

  • "have cheated"

  • "disruptive"

  • "problem"

would make me feel:

  • that the lecturer probably doesn't really like his job/what he's doing, because most terms are negative; he mainly see problems instead of focusing on the interesting part of his job

  • that the lecturer isn't very professional (come on, everybody has problems at work and that's the role of a worker to solve them in an intelligent manner, and not whine about it – in fact you don't want students whining in your course, but you're whining about potential problems that might arise in your course with your draft syllabus, even before the course has started!)

  • that the lecturer has an a priori bad feeling about me (as a student)

That will obviously discourage even good students to choose your course.

There are already great answers about the specific points 1 to 5.

I'll answer about the general tone of your draft: since I started teaching at university (but this would be true anywhere I think), I noticed the importance of having a positive attitude with students.

By this, I mean, when you start a course with new students, you have to be positive a priori and open-minded to them (except when you have the evidence of someone being in violation with your rules, but even in this case, a positive and professional attitude helps to solve the problem).

Students feel when the lecturer has a benevolent attitude, and then usually everything is going well.

On the other hand, if I was a student and read your draft, these words:

  • "If you can't ..., please withdraw."

  • "whining"

  • "will not be tolerated"

  • "not just to "know it"

  • "I suspect"

  • "have cheated"

  • "disruptive"

  • "problem"

would make me feel:

  • that the lecturer probably doesn't really like his job/what he's doing, because most terms are negative; he mainly see problems instead of focusing on the interesting part of his job

  • that the lecturer isn't very professional (come on, everybody has problems at work and that's the role of a worker to solve them in an intelligent manner, and not whine about it – in fact you don't want students whining in your course, but you're whining about potential problems that might arise in your course with your draft syllabus, even before the course has started!)

  • that the lecturer has an a priori bad feeling about me (as a student)

That will obviously discourage even good students to choose your course.

Source Link
Basj
  • 211
  • 1
  • 5

There are already great answers about the specific points 1 to 5.

I'll answer about the general tone of your draft: since I started teaching at university (but this would be true anywhere I think), I noticed the importance of having a positive attitude with students.

By this, I mean, when you start a course with new students, you have to be positive a priori and open-minded to them (except when you have the evidence of someone being in violation with your rules, but even in this case, a positive and professional attitude help to solve the problem).

Students feel when the lecturer has a benevolent attitude, and then usually everything is going well.

On the other hand, if I was a student and read your draft, these words:

  • "If you can't ..., please withdraw."

  • "whining"

  • "will not be tolerated"

  • "not just to "know it"

  • "I suspect"

  • "have cheated"

  • "disruptive"

  • "problem"

would make me feel:

  • that the lecturer probably doesn't really like his job/what he's doing, because most terms are negative; he mainly see problems instead of focusing on the interesting part of his job

  • that the lecturer isn't very professional (come on, everybody has problems at work and that's the role of a worker to solve them in an intelligent manner, and not whine about it – in fact you don't want students whining in your course, but you're whining about potential problems that might arise in your course with your draft syllabus, even before the course has started!)

  • that the lecturer has an a priori bad feeling about me (as a student)

That will obviously discourage even good students to choose your course.