Skip to main content

Timeline for Journal review failure

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 31, 2018 at 0:53 comment added Eggy The question was, "What are the ethics of this and doesn't it make a mockery of the peer-review process?" Ethics always matter, or course. I phrased my answer as I did because the poster is up against entrenched systemic problems and I don't think the poster can influence this system. But if, as others have suggested, the wrong reviews were accidentally attached to the paper, that's a different case entirely. Still, the poster did everything possible to alert the editor to the error but got no reply. I think the poster has made sufficient effort to correct the problem.
May 31, 2018 at 0:45 comment added Eggy The question was, "If the revised manuscript is accepted, it will be published as a peer-reviewed article without having been peer reviewed. What are the ethics of this and doesn't it make a mockery of the peer-review process?"
May 30, 2018 at 12:12 comment added jakebeal I strongly disagree with your statement "Since you didn't create it, you have no personal ethical responsibility here." I think that we have ethical responsibilities even when somebody else is behaving badly---and that is in fact the time when ethics matter most.
May 29, 2018 at 23:04 history answered Eggy CC BY-SA 4.0