Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • If I do this, the issue with both of us is that in citations, the name will appear as firstauthor et al . I am looking for an academic career. If I am moved to second author position with the footnote claiming equal contribution as a result of the upcoming arbitration, will it be ethical for me to cite the paper in my CV as "my name etal" ? Commented May 22, 2018 at 10:38
  • @krishna No, but you can make it clear that you are an important author. I don't think this is a problem for a CV. I think there is a slight disadvantage in a more general sense, because if the paper becomes well-known it will tend to be known as "X et al". (Yes, I'm in this situation, my most-cited publication by far is one that I'm 2nd author on with roughly equal contribution ;-))
    – Flyto
    Commented May 22, 2018 at 10:43
  • 1
    This doesn't cut it for me. In my country where I intend to apply for faculty positions, unfortunately the perception is that if your name doesn't appear in citation , it doesn't count. It is rather unfortunate. Hence I shall be making a case for the arbitration committee based on contribution in the paper. Commented May 22, 2018 at 10:53
  • You realize that your real problem is the stupid hiring procedures in your country, right? How would they deal with a field like mine where authors are always listed alphabetically? Commented May 22, 2018 at 15:01
  • @AlexanderWoo Absolutely realize that. I have tried to do my bit to change the system through networking with faculty who are already there. Their response is unanimous "Be the change you want to see in this world". As an outsider, I do not have a voice. And getting in, requires the classical and flawed impact-factor metred first author publications. Commented May 22, 2018 at 17:00