Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link
  • Has anyone had experience with this?

I actually did just this just the other day with a Lenovo ThinkCenter (tiny chassis). The DC power input connector is very similar to a USB plug (and I wasn't paying enough attention to what I was doing).

Lenovo tiny

In my case it corrupted the partition on a 500GB USB data drive I was working with when I accidentally yanked the power. Total data loss on that drive (maybe not total, but I decided it wasn't worth my time to try recovering the data).

  • Would these manufacturers have built in specific safeguards for such events?

There is nothing in these machines to help avoid the problem and so, just like with a standard ATX PC, pulling the power while live is bad news.

About the only way to avoid this problem is via batteries (i.e.: laptop, or UPS), and there's practically no way current consumer battery technology could be jammed into these tiny chassis, yet still be hefty enough to provide enough time to properly maintain or shutdown the machine (and all peripherals) in the event of a power interruption.

  • Will the hardware be degraded?
  • Would there be severe hard drive damage?

Since it is the same as a standard form factor PC in this regard, then this existing SU question still applies:

Can a power failure or forceful shutdown damage hardware?Can a power failure or forceful shutdown damage hardware?

  • Has anyone had experience with this?

I actually did just this just the other day with a Lenovo ThinkCenter (tiny chassis). The DC power input connector is very similar to a USB plug (and I wasn't paying enough attention to what I was doing).

Lenovo tiny

In my case it corrupted the partition on a 500GB USB data drive I was working with when I accidentally yanked the power. Total data loss on that drive (maybe not total, but I decided it wasn't worth my time to try recovering the data).

  • Would these manufacturers have built in specific safeguards for such events?

There is nothing in these machines to help avoid the problem and so, just like with a standard ATX PC, pulling the power while live is bad news.

About the only way to avoid this problem is via batteries (i.e.: laptop, or UPS), and there's practically no way current consumer battery technology could be jammed into these tiny chassis, yet still be hefty enough to provide enough time to properly maintain or shutdown the machine (and all peripherals) in the event of a power interruption.

  • Will the hardware be degraded?
  • Would there be severe hard drive damage?

Since it is the same as a standard form factor PC in this regard, then this existing SU question still applies:

Can a power failure or forceful shutdown damage hardware?

  • Has anyone had experience with this?

I actually did just this just the other day with a Lenovo ThinkCenter (tiny chassis). The DC power input connector is very similar to a USB plug (and I wasn't paying enough attention to what I was doing).

Lenovo tiny

In my case it corrupted the partition on a 500GB USB data drive I was working with when I accidentally yanked the power. Total data loss on that drive (maybe not total, but I decided it wasn't worth my time to try recovering the data).

  • Would these manufacturers have built in specific safeguards for such events?

There is nothing in these machines to help avoid the problem and so, just like with a standard ATX PC, pulling the power while live is bad news.

About the only way to avoid this problem is via batteries (i.e.: laptop, or UPS), and there's practically no way current consumer battery technology could be jammed into these tiny chassis, yet still be hefty enough to provide enough time to properly maintain or shutdown the machine (and all peripherals) in the event of a power interruption.

  • Will the hardware be degraded?
  • Would there be severe hard drive damage?

Since it is the same as a standard form factor PC in this regard, then this existing SU question still applies:

Can a power failure or forceful shutdown damage hardware?

added 350 characters in body
Source Link
Ƭᴇcʜιᴇ007
  • 113.2k
  • 19
  • 203
  • 270
  • Has anyone had experience with this?

I actually did just this just the other day with a Lenovo ThinkCenter (tiny chassis). The DC power input connector is very similar to a USB plug (and I wasn't paying enough attention to what I was doing).

Lenovo tiny

In my case it corrupted the partition on a 500GB USB data drive I was working with when I accidentally yanked the power. Total data loss on that drive (maybe not total, but I decided it wasn't worth my time to try recovering the data).

  • Would these manufacturers have built in specific safeguards for such events?

There is nothing in these machines to help avoid the problem, and so, just like with a standard ATX PC, pulling the power while live is bad news.

In my case it corrupted the partition on a 500GB USB data drive I was working with when I accidentally yankedAbout the power. Total data loss on that driveonly way to avoid this problem is via batteries (maybe not totali.e.: laptop, but I decided it wasn't worth myor UPS), and there's practically no way current consumer battery technology could be jammed into these tiny chassis, yet still be hefty enough to provide enough time to try recoveringproperly maintain or shutdown the datamachine (and all peripherals) in the event of a power interruption.

  • Will the hardware be degraded?
  • Would there be severe hard drive damage?

Since it is the same as a standard form factor PC in this regard, then this existing SU question still applies:

Can a power failure or forceful shutdown damage hardware?

  • Has anyone had experience with this?

I actually did just this just the other day with a Lenovo ThinkCenter (tiny chassis). The DC power input connector is very similar to a USB plug (and I wasn't paying enough attention to what I was doing).

Lenovo tiny

  • Would these manufacturers have built in specific safeguards for such events?

There is nothing in these machines to help avoid the problem, and just like with a standard ATX PC, pulling the power while live is bad news.

In my case it corrupted the partition on a 500GB USB data drive I was working with when I accidentally yanked the power. Total data loss on that drive (maybe not total, but I decided it wasn't worth my time to try recovering the data).

  • Will the hardware be degraded?
  • Would there be severe hard drive damage?

Since it is the same as a standard form factor PC in this regard, then this existing SU question still applies:

Can a power failure or forceful shutdown damage hardware?

  • Has anyone had experience with this?

I actually did just this just the other day with a Lenovo ThinkCenter (tiny chassis). The DC power input connector is very similar to a USB plug (and I wasn't paying enough attention to what I was doing).

Lenovo tiny

In my case it corrupted the partition on a 500GB USB data drive I was working with when I accidentally yanked the power. Total data loss on that drive (maybe not total, but I decided it wasn't worth my time to try recovering the data).

  • Would these manufacturers have built in specific safeguards for such events?

There is nothing in these machines to help avoid the problem and so, just like with a standard ATX PC, pulling the power while live is bad news.

About the only way to avoid this problem is via batteries (i.e.: laptop, or UPS), and there's practically no way current consumer battery technology could be jammed into these tiny chassis, yet still be hefty enough to provide enough time to properly maintain or shutdown the machine (and all peripherals) in the event of a power interruption.

  • Will the hardware be degraded?
  • Would there be severe hard drive damage?

Since it is the same as a standard form factor PC in this regard, then this existing SU question still applies:

Can a power failure or forceful shutdown damage hardware?

Source Link
Ƭᴇcʜιᴇ007
  • 113.2k
  • 19
  • 203
  • 270

  • Has anyone had experience with this?

I actually did just this just the other day with a Lenovo ThinkCenter (tiny chassis). The DC power input connector is very similar to a USB plug (and I wasn't paying enough attention to what I was doing).

Lenovo tiny

  • Would these manufacturers have built in specific safeguards for such events?

There is nothing in these machines to help avoid the problem, and just like with a standard ATX PC, pulling the power while live is bad news.

In my case it corrupted the partition on a 500GB USB data drive I was working with when I accidentally yanked the power. Total data loss on that drive (maybe not total, but I decided it wasn't worth my time to try recovering the data).

  • Will the hardware be degraded?
  • Would there be severe hard drive damage?

Since it is the same as a standard form factor PC in this regard, then this existing SU question still applies:

Can a power failure or forceful shutdown damage hardware?