Skip to main content
Copy edited. Removed meta information (this is implied).
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 12.2k
  • 23
  • 72
  • 90

I know that BIOS loads its first instruction from 0xFFFFFFF0, but why this specific address? I've a bunch of questions, and hope you can help me with some of them, at least.

My questions:

  • Why is the first BIOS instruction located at the "top" of a 4GB4 GB RAM?
  • What would happen if my computer only has 1GB1 GB of RAM?
  • What about systems with more than 4GB4 GB of RAM (e.g: 8GBfor example, 16GB8 GB, 16 GB, etc.)?
  • Why is stack the stack initialized with some value (in this case, a value located at 0xFFFFFFF0)?

I've read about that this afternoon, and I still don't get it, please help me.

I know that BIOS loads its first instruction from 0xFFFFFFF0, but why this specific address? I've a bunch of questions, hope you can help me with some of them, at least.

My questions:

  • Why is the first BIOS instruction located at the "top" of a 4GB RAM?
  • What would happen if my computer only has 1GB of RAM?
  • What about systems with more than 4GB of RAM (e.g: 8GB, 16GB, etc.)?
  • Why is stack the initialized with some value (in this case, a value located at 0xFFFFFFF0)?

I've read about that this afternoon and I still don't get it, please help me.

I know that BIOS loads its first instruction from 0xFFFFFFF0, but why this specific address? I've a bunch of questions and hope you can help me with some of them, at least.

My questions:

  • Why is the first BIOS instruction located at the "top" of a 4 GB RAM?
  • What would happen if my computer only has 1 GB of RAM?
  • What about systems with more than 4 GB of RAM (for example, 8 GB, 16 GB, etc.)?
  • Why is the stack initialized with some value (in this case, a value located at 0xFFFFFFF0)?

I've read about that this afternoon, and I still don't get it.

Why is the first BIOS instruction is located at 0xFFFFFFF0 ("top" of RAM)?

I know that BIOS load it'sloads its first instruction from 0xFFFFFFF0, but why this specific address? I've a bunch of questions, hope you can help me with some of them, at least.

My questions:

  • Why is the first BIOS instruction is located at the "top" of a 4GB RAM?
  • What would happen if my computer has only has 1GB of RAM?
  • What about systems with more than 4GB of RAM (e.g: 8GB, 16GB, etc.)?
  • Why is stack the initialized with some value (in this case, a value located at 0xFFFFFFF0)?

I've read about that this afternoon and I still didn'tdon't get it, please help me.

Why the first BIOS instruction is located at 0xFFFFFFF0 ("top" of RAM)?

I know that BIOS load it's first instruction from 0xFFFFFFF0, but why this specific address? I've a bunch of questions, hope you can help me with some of them, at least.

My questions:

  • Why the first BIOS instruction is located at the "top" of a 4GB RAM?
  • What would happen if my computer has only 1GB of RAM?
  • What about systems with more than 4GB of RAM (e.g: 8GB, 16GB, etc.)?
  • Why is stack initialized with some value (in this case, a value located at 0xFFFFFFF0)?

I've read about that this afternoon and I still didn't get it, please help me.

Why is the first BIOS instruction located at 0xFFFFFFF0 ("top" of RAM)?

I know that BIOS loads its first instruction from 0xFFFFFFF0, but why this specific address? I've a bunch of questions, hope you can help me with some of them, at least.

My questions:

  • Why is the first BIOS instruction located at the "top" of a 4GB RAM?
  • What would happen if my computer only has 1GB of RAM?
  • What about systems with more than 4GB of RAM (e.g: 8GB, 16GB, etc.)?
  • Why is stack the initialized with some value (in this case, a value located at 0xFFFFFFF0)?

I've read about that this afternoon and I still don't get it, please help me.

Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/655935973486927872
Source Link

Why the first BIOS instruction is located at 0xFFFFFFF0 ("top" of RAM)?

I know that BIOS load it's first instruction from 0xFFFFFFF0, but why this specific address? I've a bunch of questions, hope you can help me with some of them, at least.

My questions:

  • Why the first BIOS instruction is located at the "top" of a 4GB RAM?
  • What would happen if my computer has only 1GB of RAM?
  • What about systems with more than 4GB of RAM (e.g: 8GB, 16GB, etc.)?
  • Why is stack initialized with some value (in this case, a value located at 0xFFFFFFF0)?

I've read about that this afternoon and I still didn't get it, please help me.