Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • My Thermaltake BlacX dock, at least via eSATA, doesn't show my 512e 3 TB WD Green as 4Kn.
    – bwDraco
    Commented Oct 12, 2015 at 1:50
  • Thanks for your detailed explanation! I guess off-brand enclosures don't usually do this, don't they? I got an "Intenso" enclosure which (AFAIK) doesn't do this (it included a 2TB Seagate hard drive when bought). BTW, I've added my motherboard model to the original post just in case it's useful.
    – OMA
    Commented Oct 12, 2015 at 12:13
  • 2
    By default all USB enclosures don't do this, ones that do (such as the above, bundled with a specific drive) are the exception.
    – qasdfdsaq
    Commented Oct 12, 2015 at 13:04
  • I wasn't talking about empty enclosures. Of course those don't mess with the hard drive sectors. I was talking about other external hard drives.
    – OMA
    Commented Oct 12, 2015 at 18:36
  • Anyway, what would be the steps to take to properly use the drive outside the Seagate Backup Plus enclosure? Just re-partition and re-format it while plugged to my computer as a SATA drive and then copy everything over again? Is that enough or do I need to do anything extra to avoid any performance penalties when using this AFD drive?
    – OMA
    Commented Oct 12, 2015 at 19:02