Skip to main content
Windows should be capitalized.
Source Link
DavidPostill
  • 158.5k
  • 77
  • 365
  • 408

Last week, I upgraded to Windows 10 from Windows 8.1. In Windows 10, I want to know how to copy a screenshot, directly to the clipboard, of only the current window. In previous versions of Windows, alt+prtscalt+prtsc did this.

Potentially relevant info:

-The snipping tool still works fine, but it requires extra steps than what I'm used to.

-I use dropbox.

-I use two monitors.

  • The snipping tool still works fine, but it requires extra steps than what I'm used to.

  • I use dropbox.

  • I use two monitors.

Here's the behavior I've witnessed:

 
Key(s)    | Windows 8.1                                       | after Windows 10 upgrade
  
========================================================================================
  
prtsc     | everything saved to file, copied to clipboard     | everything saved to file 
 
alt+prtsc | current window saved to file, copied to clipboard | everything saved to file
  
win+prtsc | not sure, never used                              | everything saved to file 

Last week, I upgraded to Windows 10 from Windows 8.1. In Windows 10, I want to know how to copy a screenshot, directly to the clipboard, of only the current window. In previous versions of Windows, alt+prtsc did this.

Potentially relevant info:

-The snipping tool still works fine, but it requires extra steps than what I'm used to.

-I use dropbox.

-I use two monitors.

Here's the behavior I've witnessed:

Key(s)    | Windows 8.1                                       | after Windows 10 upgrade
 ========================================================================================
 prtsc     | everything saved to file, copied to clipboard     | everything saved to file 
alt+prtsc | current window saved to file, copied to clipboard | everything saved to file
 win+prtsc | not sure, never used                              | everything saved to file

Last week, I upgraded to Windows 10 from Windows 8.1. In Windows 10, I want to know how to copy a screenshot, directly to the clipboard, of only the current window. In previous versions of Windows, alt+prtsc did this.

Potentially relevant info:

  • The snipping tool still works fine, but it requires extra steps than what I'm used to.

  • I use dropbox.

  • I use two monitors.

Here's the behavior I've witnessed:

 
Key(s)    | Windows 8.1                                       | after Windows 10 upgrade 
======================================================================================== 
prtsc     | everything saved to file, copied to clipboard     | everything saved to file 
alt+prtsc | current window saved to file, copied to clipboard | everything saved to file 
win+prtsc | not sure, never used                              | everything saved to file 
Source Link
Andrew
  • 98
  • 1
  • 11

How to copy current window to clipboard in Windows 10

Last week, I upgraded to Windows 10 from Windows 8.1. In Windows 10, I want to know how to copy a screenshot, directly to the clipboard, of only the current window. In previous versions of Windows, alt+prtsc did this.

Potentially relevant info:

-The snipping tool still works fine, but it requires extra steps than what I'm used to.

-I use dropbox.

-I use two monitors.

Here's the behavior I've witnessed:

Key(s)    | Windows 8.1                                       | after Windows 10 upgrade
========================================================================================
prtsc     | everything saved to file, copied to clipboard     | everything saved to file 
alt+prtsc | current window saved to file, copied to clipboard | everything saved to file
win+prtsc | not sure, never used                              | everything saved to file