Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 30, 2015 at 7:30 comment added DavidPostill @MichaelKjörling Sorry, my comment wasn't very clear. When you import (load) a hive into the registry (even if is HKLM) you are asked for the name of a key (for example use old-registry). As long as you don't use the name of an existing key (like SYSTEM) you won't overwrite anything. The OP's link makes that clear.
Sep 30, 2015 at 7:23 comment added user @DavidPostill That's not what the OP was doing, though (at least not the way I read it). OP was trying to "load an old, backed-up NTUSER.DAT file into the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE within the Registry Editor" (my emphasis).
Sep 29, 2015 at 16:36 comment added DavidPostill Isn't it normal to import a hive under a new keyname if you just want to grab a few values from it?
Sep 29, 2015 at 10:59 comment added Yuval Herziger Thanks Michael, given that I know nothing about how the registry works, I figured this might be the case and your answer definitely seals my doubts. If only I could go back in time and slap myself for being tempted to upgrade to Win 10...
Sep 29, 2015 at 10:45 vote accept Yuval Herziger
Sep 29, 2015 at 10:00 history answered user CC BY-SA 3.0