Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

I recently upgraded by Windows 7 Home Premium machine to Windows 10 Home. The upgrade went fine and the machine's been running alright, except for one thing: I hibernate it every night when I'm done using it, and Win 7 stayed "off" until I turned it back on again whereas Win 10 seemingly randomly turns back on.

I've disabled Wake-on-LAN as well as wake on keyboard/mouse movement. Windows Update is configured to have me schedule the updates instead of installing them automatically. There doesn't seem to be anything relevant in the Event Viewer, although to be honest I'm not 100% sure what I'd be looking for there.

So what gives? How can I diagnose these random wake-ups and stop them?


I did read through this questionthis question and checked out my scheduled tasks and maintenance settings. There are four scheduled tasks and none are configured to wake up the system. The automatic maintenance is supposedly configured to run at midnight, but that doesn't seem to be the case. I came home today to find my machine running and the maintenance run date is reported as 4pm:

enter image description here

I also have the following in the Event Viewer:

The system has returned from a low power state.

Sleep Time: ‎2015‎-‎09‎-‎23T03:47:52.760473200Z
Wake Time: ‎2015‎-‎09‎-‎23T19:36:37.370293600Z

Wake Source: Unknown

This 4 p.m. wake-up seems to be consistent with previous wake-ups. WindowsUpdate ran about 3 minutes after the machine reportedly "woke up", so I'm not sure if that's what woke it up or if it just started running since the machine wasn't in use. I did also see this questionthis question, which matches the behaviour I'm seeing, but unfortunately the "turn off automatic updates" solution doesn't apply since that's already off.

Is this a dead end? What else can I look at?

I recently upgraded by Windows 7 Home Premium machine to Windows 10 Home. The upgrade went fine and the machine's been running alright, except for one thing: I hibernate it every night when I'm done using it, and Win 7 stayed "off" until I turned it back on again whereas Win 10 seemingly randomly turns back on.

I've disabled Wake-on-LAN as well as wake on keyboard/mouse movement. Windows Update is configured to have me schedule the updates instead of installing them automatically. There doesn't seem to be anything relevant in the Event Viewer, although to be honest I'm not 100% sure what I'd be looking for there.

So what gives? How can I diagnose these random wake-ups and stop them?


I did read through this question and checked out my scheduled tasks and maintenance settings. There are four scheduled tasks and none are configured to wake up the system. The automatic maintenance is supposedly configured to run at midnight, but that doesn't seem to be the case. I came home today to find my machine running and the maintenance run date is reported as 4pm:

enter image description here

I also have the following in the Event Viewer:

The system has returned from a low power state.

Sleep Time: ‎2015‎-‎09‎-‎23T03:47:52.760473200Z
Wake Time: ‎2015‎-‎09‎-‎23T19:36:37.370293600Z

Wake Source: Unknown

This 4 p.m. wake-up seems to be consistent with previous wake-ups. WindowsUpdate ran about 3 minutes after the machine reportedly "woke up", so I'm not sure if that's what woke it up or if it just started running since the machine wasn't in use. I did also see this question, which matches the behaviour I'm seeing, but unfortunately the "turn off automatic updates" solution doesn't apply since that's already off.

Is this a dead end? What else can I look at?

I recently upgraded by Windows 7 Home Premium machine to Windows 10 Home. The upgrade went fine and the machine's been running alright, except for one thing: I hibernate it every night when I'm done using it, and Win 7 stayed "off" until I turned it back on again whereas Win 10 seemingly randomly turns back on.

I've disabled Wake-on-LAN as well as wake on keyboard/mouse movement. Windows Update is configured to have me schedule the updates instead of installing them automatically. There doesn't seem to be anything relevant in the Event Viewer, although to be honest I'm not 100% sure what I'd be looking for there.

So what gives? How can I diagnose these random wake-ups and stop them?


I did read through this question and checked out my scheduled tasks and maintenance settings. There are four scheduled tasks and none are configured to wake up the system. The automatic maintenance is supposedly configured to run at midnight, but that doesn't seem to be the case. I came home today to find my machine running and the maintenance run date is reported as 4pm:

enter image description here

I also have the following in the Event Viewer:

The system has returned from a low power state.

Sleep Time: ‎2015‎-‎09‎-‎23T03:47:52.760473200Z
Wake Time: ‎2015‎-‎09‎-‎23T19:36:37.370293600Z

Wake Source: Unknown

This 4 p.m. wake-up seems to be consistent with previous wake-ups. WindowsUpdate ran about 3 minutes after the machine reportedly "woke up", so I'm not sure if that's what woke it up or if it just started running since the machine wasn't in use. I did also see this question, which matches the behaviour I'm seeing, but unfortunately the "turn off automatic updates" solution doesn't apply since that's already off.

Is this a dead end? What else can I look at?

Post Closed as "Duplicate" by Adam Lear
Post Reopened by Adam Lear
added 1372 characters in body
Source Link
Adam Lear
  • 1k
  • 3
  • 14
  • 27

I recently upgraded by Windows 7 Home Premium machine to Windows 10 Home. The upgrade went fine and the machine's been running alright, except for one thing: I hibernate it every night when I'm done using it, and Win 7 stayed "off" until I turned it back on again whereas Win 10 seemingly randomly turns back on.

I've disabled Wake-on-LAN as well as wake on keyboard/mouse movement. Windows Update is configured to have me schedule the updates instead of installing them automatically. There doesn't seem to be anything relevant in the Event Viewer, although to be honest I'm not 100% sure what I'd be looking for there.

So what gives? How can I diagnose these random wake-ups and stop them?


I did read through this question and checked out my scheduled tasks and maintenance settings. There are four scheduled tasks and none are configured to wake up the system. The automatic maintenance is supposedly configured to run at midnight, but that doesn't seem to be the case. I came home today to find my machine running and the maintenance run date is reported as 4pm:

enter image description here

I also have the following in the Event Viewer:

The system has returned from a low power state.

Sleep Time: ‎2015‎-‎09‎-‎23T03:47:52.760473200Z
Wake Time: ‎2015‎-‎09‎-‎23T19:36:37.370293600Z

Wake Source: Unknown

This 4 p.m. wake-up seems to be consistent with previous wake-ups. WindowsUpdate ran about 3 minutes after the machine reportedly "woke up", so I'm not sure if that's what woke it up or if it just started running since the machine wasn't in use. I did also see this question, which matches the behaviour I'm seeing, but unfortunately the "turn off automatic updates" solution doesn't apply since that's already off.

Is this a dead end? What else can I look at?

I recently upgraded by Windows 7 Home Premium machine to Windows 10 Home. The upgrade went fine and the machine's been running alright, except for one thing: I hibernate it every night when I'm done using it, and Win 7 stayed "off" until I turned it back on again whereas Win 10 seemingly randomly turns back on.

I've disabled Wake-on-LAN as well as wake on keyboard/mouse movement. Windows Update is configured to have me schedule the updates instead of installing them automatically. There doesn't seem to be anything relevant in the Event Viewer, although to be honest I'm not 100% sure what I'd be looking for there.

So what gives? How can I diagnose these random wake-ups and stop them?

I recently upgraded by Windows 7 Home Premium machine to Windows 10 Home. The upgrade went fine and the machine's been running alright, except for one thing: I hibernate it every night when I'm done using it, and Win 7 stayed "off" until I turned it back on again whereas Win 10 seemingly randomly turns back on.

I've disabled Wake-on-LAN as well as wake on keyboard/mouse movement. Windows Update is configured to have me schedule the updates instead of installing them automatically. There doesn't seem to be anything relevant in the Event Viewer, although to be honest I'm not 100% sure what I'd be looking for there.

So what gives? How can I diagnose these random wake-ups and stop them?


I did read through this question and checked out my scheduled tasks and maintenance settings. There are four scheduled tasks and none are configured to wake up the system. The automatic maintenance is supposedly configured to run at midnight, but that doesn't seem to be the case. I came home today to find my machine running and the maintenance run date is reported as 4pm:

enter image description here

I also have the following in the Event Viewer:

The system has returned from a low power state.

Sleep Time: ‎2015‎-‎09‎-‎23T03:47:52.760473200Z
Wake Time: ‎2015‎-‎09‎-‎23T19:36:37.370293600Z

Wake Source: Unknown

This 4 p.m. wake-up seems to be consistent with previous wake-ups. WindowsUpdate ran about 3 minutes after the machine reportedly "woke up", so I'm not sure if that's what woke it up or if it just started running since the machine wasn't in use. I did also see this question, which matches the behaviour I'm seeing, but unfortunately the "turn off automatic updates" solution doesn't apply since that's already off.

Is this a dead end? What else can I look at?

Post Closed as "Duplicate" by DavidPostill, CommunityBot
Source Link
Adam Lear
  • 1k
  • 3
  • 14
  • 27

Why is Windows 10 randomly resuming from hibernate?

I recently upgraded by Windows 7 Home Premium machine to Windows 10 Home. The upgrade went fine and the machine's been running alright, except for one thing: I hibernate it every night when I'm done using it, and Win 7 stayed "off" until I turned it back on again whereas Win 10 seemingly randomly turns back on.

I've disabled Wake-on-LAN as well as wake on keyboard/mouse movement. Windows Update is configured to have me schedule the updates instead of installing them automatically. There doesn't seem to be anything relevant in the Event Viewer, although to be honest I'm not 100% sure what I'd be looking for there.

So what gives? How can I diagnose these random wake-ups and stop them?