Skip to main content
added 216 characters in body
Source Link
Eric Johnson
  • 511
  • 3
  • 9
  • 24

I have a windows server that has a printer installed on it. Currently if I want to print using it, I would RDP the server, copy the document over, and print it.

Would it be possible (for free) to add the remote printer as a local printer on my computer so it would do something such as automatically initiate the RDP connection, print and exit?

Note: I do NOT have admin rights on the server.

EDIT: This is an RDP server at my college so I would do not have any chance of getting admin privileges, and the printers are most likely under a different vlan or something else not visible to the outside world.

I have a windows server that has a printer installed on it. Currently if I want to print using it, I would RDP the server, copy the document over, and print it.

Would it be possible (for free) to add the remote printer as a local printer on my computer so it would do something such as automatically initiate the RDP connection, print and exit?

Note: I do NOT have admin rights on the server.

I have a windows server that has a printer installed on it. Currently if I want to print using it, I would RDP the server, copy the document over, and print it.

Would it be possible (for free) to add the remote printer as a local printer on my computer so it would do something such as automatically initiate the RDP connection, print and exit?

Note: I do NOT have admin rights on the server.

EDIT: This is an RDP server at my college so I would do not have any chance of getting admin privileges, and the printers are most likely under a different vlan or something else not visible to the outside world.

Source Link
Eric Johnson
  • 511
  • 3
  • 9
  • 24

Add printer on Remote Windows Server as Local Printer

I have a windows server that has a printer installed on it. Currently if I want to print using it, I would RDP the server, copy the document over, and print it.

Would it be possible (for free) to add the remote printer as a local printer on my computer so it would do something such as automatically initiate the RDP connection, print and exit?

Note: I do NOT have admin rights on the server.