Skip to main content
16 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 20, 2017 at 10:16 history edited CommunityBot
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Sep 11, 2015 at 17:49 comment added David Schwartz Ahh, that you are using PPPoE in the router is the missing piece. So your modem is routing, but only the PPPoE traffic. Your best bet is probably to leave things the way they are, I'm afraid. Alternatively, you could number the modem into a different subnet and see if the router will let you access it, possibly with an extra static route.
Sep 11, 2015 at 17:25 comment added Daniel Wagner @DavidSchwartz "Why do you want to access your modem?" Because problems happen; if possible, I'd like to put in a little bit of effort now to reduce the effort of troubleshooting later.
Sep 11, 2015 at 17:20 comment added David Schwartz Let's take a huge step back. This might be an XY problem. Why do you want to access your modem? (Also, your modem is not in bridged mode. If it was, it wouldn't have a LAN IP address.)
Sep 11, 2015 at 16:25 comment added Daniel Wagner @JakeGould That's an interesting suggestion! I tried visiting the 207 address I have in my question from the router's routing table, which timed out; I also tried my external IP as suggested by a what's-my-ip service, but that seems to trigger a port forwarding rule I have for serving a personal website from my PC. If I turn off the port forwarding rule, I get the router's admin website instead.
Sep 11, 2015 at 16:21 comment added David Schwartz @DanielWagner Turn off the router's DHCP server (because you only need one on a LAN) and connect the modem to one of the router's LAN ports. Now the modem and router (which is now just an access point and switch) are on the same LAN.
Sep 11, 2015 at 16:16 comment added Daniel Wagner @DavidSchwartz I'd be happy to set up the network differently, if you have a suggestion. Solutions that don't involve buying more hardware are preferable -- I'd rather swap my Ethernet cable occasionally than pay for another device. The key properties of the setup at the moment is that the router need not be a modem; and the modem need not be a wireless access point.
Sep 11, 2015 at 15:52 comment added David Schwartz Is there some reason you have it set up this way? Why did you connect the modem's LAN port to your router's WAN port? This sounds like "I set up my network so my router considers the modem part of the WAN, but I want the modem to be part of my LAN." Umm, you get what you ask for.
Sep 11, 2015 at 15:36 comment added StackAbstraction What is your goal of accessing the modem on an ongoing basis? Many just directly connect only when they need to change something to troubleshoot.
Sep 11, 2015 at 6:50 answer added Linef4ult timeline score: 3
Sep 11, 2015 at 6:01 answer added JtHermit timeline score: 1
Sep 11, 2015 at 5:48 history edited Giacomo1968 CC BY-SA 3.0
added 60 characters in body; edited title
S Sep 11, 2015 at 5:22 history edited Giacomo1968 CC BY-SA 3.0
clarified subject with more specificity
S Sep 11, 2015 at 5:22 history suggested StackAbstraction CC BY-SA 3.0
clarified subject with more specificity
Sep 11, 2015 at 5:15 review Suggested edits
S Sep 11, 2015 at 5:22
Sep 11, 2015 at 4:33 history asked Daniel Wagner CC BY-SA 3.0