Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • What is your goal of accessing the modem on an ongoing basis? Many just directly connect only when they need to change something to troubleshoot. Commented Sep 11, 2015 at 15:36
  • Is there some reason you have it set up this way? Why did you connect the modem's LAN port to your router's WAN port? This sounds like "I set up my network so my router considers the modem part of the WAN, but I want the modem to be part of my LAN." Umm, you get what you ask for. Commented Sep 11, 2015 at 15:52
  • @DavidSchwartz I'd be happy to set up the network differently, if you have a suggestion. Solutions that don't involve buying more hardware are preferable -- I'd rather swap my Ethernet cable occasionally than pay for another device. The key properties of the setup at the moment is that the router need not be a modem; and the modem need not be a wireless access point. Commented Sep 11, 2015 at 16:16
  • @DanielWagner Turn off the router's DHCP server (because you only need one on a LAN) and connect the modem to one of the router's LAN ports. Now the modem and router (which is now just an access point and switch) are on the same LAN. Commented Sep 11, 2015 at 16:21
  • @JakeGould That's an interesting suggestion! I tried visiting the 207 address I have in my question from the router's routing table, which timed out; I also tried my external IP as suggested by a what's-my-ip service, but that seems to trigger a port forwarding rule I have for serving a personal website from my PC. If I turn off the port forwarding rule, I get the router's admin website instead. Commented Sep 11, 2015 at 16:25