Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • 1
    I run rsync in a similar scenario with -aAHX --delete --numeric-ids --relative --delete-excluded plus some --exclude parameters. You may want to have a look at that parameter set as a starting point. Using -x may or may not be appropriate depending on how your file systems are set up.
    – user
    Commented Sep 5, 2015 at 12:01
  • Everything is on the same file system, so I guess -x doesn't make much sense. I also don't use ACL's in fstab so -A is probably not useful as well. I also don't need --relative and will add --delete-excluded if I exclude anything. On the other hand, -X and --numeric-ids look useful, so I will probably use them. Would you agree that --inplace and --no-whole-file are also good to use?
    – alesc
    Commented Sep 5, 2015 at 12:26
  • 1
    I don't know about the latter two, but I suspect they can't really hurt. If everything is on the same file system, then -x is probably what you want (unless you want to copy the backup target directory into itself... recursively.)
    – user
    Commented Sep 5, 2015 at 12:39
  • Thanks again for the tip. I will stay with x then. I have been using it all the time, but wasn't aware that it prevents recursive copying :) If you wish, you can put everything into an answer, so I can reward you.
    – alesc
    Commented Sep 5, 2015 at 12:46