Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Are you really sure the boot partition resides on the disk you imaged?
    – Daniel B
    Commented Sep 5, 2015 at 21:39
  • The only 2 disks I could select are the drive in my laptop and my external drive. I am writing the vhd to the external drive. I am imaging the internal hard drive, so I believe I am imaging the drive with the boot partition on it.
    – epotter
    Commented Sep 8, 2015 at 12:43
  • Is your laptop a (relatively) recent device? Windows might boot using UEFI. In that case, you need to resture the UEFI NVRAM boot entries in your (Gen2) VM, for example using bcdboot. Please provide a list of partitions (and their filesystems/IDs) currently present in your VHDX.
    – Daniel B
    Commented Sep 8, 2015 at 14:47
  • The VHDX has 3 partitions. One is a 300 MB Recovery Partition. One is a 99 MD EFI System Partition. One is a large NTFS partition. I don't know how do get their IDs. It does seem that I am booting with UEFI. Does bcdboot work with HyperV?
    – epotter
    Commented Sep 10, 2015 at 19:48