Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 6
    Downvoted - not because it's a bad answer (it's not) but because the screenshots are increasingly out of date. The command line alternatives are better.
    – Andrew M
    Commented May 14, 2014 at 12:32
  • @AndrewM: True...though, I'm not sure if I should update it or expand it to something more generic...but doesn't get better than the other answers. I'll expand it for the time being and update it...
    – Bobby
    Commented May 14, 2014 at 17:54
  • great edit - downvote reversed. Is it worth explaining the relationship between Unity and Gnome?
    – Andrew M
    Commented May 15, 2014 at 14:05
  • @AndrewM: What realationship do you mean? That they both are using Gtk3? Or the love/hate between them? By the way, no worries about downvotes on my posts, downvotes are not negative in my opinion.
    – Bobby
    Commented May 15, 2014 at 17:15
  • I thought Unity was Gnome (just a veneer on top)? I'm on unity and a lot of the other tests suggested on this question show up as Gnome (eg "ls /usr/bin/*session*" and the ps | grep style ones). I'll read up a bit as it's interesting.
    – Andrew M
    Commented May 19, 2014 at 14:06