Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
fixer1234
  • 27.6k
  • 61
  • 78
  • 123
deleted 121 characters in body
Source Link
Gideon
  • 437
  • 1
  • 7
  • 17

Is it possible to install Windows OS to plug and play storage devicedevices such as external hard drives, HDD enclosures (with SATA hard drives), USB flashdrives[1] and the likes? What OS's? And if it's possible, can I boot on it after the installation/formatting?

I've read someone has tried this already using Windows XP but failed since XP reinitializes all attached USB devices before loading OS, thus disabling the External HDD that is attached via USB port[2].

What about other Windows OS: on Windows 7 or 8.... or Windows 10?

I'm asking this because I'm planning to create a portable OS. When I'm at my house, when I go to my grandmother's, or to a friend's place: I just simple plug that portable storage device, change the boot priority, and turn on the system and violata-da! I will only see one environment every time.


[1] - Just curious., [2] - I have yet to experiment on this to confirm.

Is it possible to install Windows OS to plug and play storage device such as external hard drives, HDD enclosures (with SATA hard drives), USB flashdrives[1] and the likes? What OS's? And if it's possible, can I boot on it after the installation/formatting?

I've read someone has tried this already using Windows XP but failed since XP reinitializes all attached USB devices before loading OS, thus disabling the External HDD that is attached via USB port[2].

What about other Windows OS: on Windows 7 or 8.... or Windows 10?

I'm asking this because I'm planning to create a portable OS. When I'm at my house, when I go to my grandmother's, or to a friend's place: I just simple plug that portable storage device, change the boot priority, and turn on the system and viola! I will only see one environment every time.


[1] - Just curious., [2] - I have yet to experiment on this to confirm.

Is it possible to install Windows OS to plug and play storage devices such as external hard drives, HDD enclosures (with SATA hard drives), USB flashdrives and the likes? What OS's? And if it's possible, can I boot on it after the installation/formatting?

I've read someone has tried this already using Windows XP but failed since XP reinitializes all attached USB devices before loading OS, thus disabling the External HDD that is attached via USB port.

What about other Windows OS: on Windows 7 or 8.... or Windows 10?

I'm asking this because I'm planning to create a portable OS. When I'm at my house, when I go to my grandmother's, or to a friend's place: I just simple plug that portable storage device, change the boot priority, and turn on the system and ta-da! I will only see one environment every time.

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/super_user/status/635358162774827008

Is it possible to install Windows OS to plug and play storage device such as external hard drives, HDD enclosures (with SATA hard drives of course), USB flashdrives[1] and the likes? What OS's? And if it's possible, can I boot on it after the installation/formatting? 

I've read someone has tried this already using Windows XP but failed since XP reinitializereinitializes all attached USB devices before loading OS, thus disabling the External HDD that is attached via USB port[2]. 

What about other Windows OS: on Windows 7 or 8.... or Windows 10?

I'm asking this because I'm planning to create a portable OS. When I'm at my house, when I go to my grandmother's, or to a friend's place: I just simple plug that portable storage device, change the boot priority, and turn on the system and viola! I will only see one environment every time.

I'm asking this because I'm planning to create a portable OS. When I'm at my house, when I go to my grandmother's, or to a friend's place: I just simple plug that portable storage device, change the boot priority, and turn on the system and viola! I will only see one environment every time.


[1] - Just curious., [2] - I have yet to experiment on this to confirm.

Is it possible to install Windows OS to plug and play storage device such as external hard drives, HDD enclosures (with SATA hard drives of course), USB flashdrives[1] and the likes? What OS's? And if it's possible, can I boot on it after the installation/formatting? I've read someone has tried this already using Windows XP but failed since XP reinitialize all attached USB devices before loading OS, thus disabling the External HDD that is attached via USB port[2]. What about other Windows OS: on Windows 7 or 8.... or Windows 10?

I'm asking this because I'm planning to create a portable OS. When I'm at my house, when I go to my grandmother's, or to a friend's place: I just simple plug that portable storage device, change the boot priority, and turn on the system and viola! I will only see one environment every time.


[1] - Just curious., [2] - I have yet to experiment on this to confirm.

Is it possible to install Windows OS to plug and play storage device such as external hard drives, HDD enclosures (with SATA hard drives), USB flashdrives[1] and the likes? What OS's? And if it's possible, can I boot on it after the installation/formatting? 

I've read someone has tried this already using Windows XP but failed since XP reinitializes all attached USB devices before loading OS, thus disabling the External HDD that is attached via USB port[2]. 

What about other Windows OS: on Windows 7 or 8.... or Windows 10?

I'm asking this because I'm planning to create a portable OS. When I'm at my house, when I go to my grandmother's, or to a friend's place: I just simple plug that portable storage device, change the boot priority, and turn on the system and viola! I will only see one environment every time.


[1] - Just curious., [2] - I have yet to experiment on this to confirm.

added 66 characters in body
Source Link
Gideon
  • 437
  • 1
  • 7
  • 17
Loading
Source Link
Gideon
  • 437
  • 1
  • 7
  • 17
Loading