Skip to main content
added clarification regarding VMware and NICs
Source Link
deucalion
  • 655
  • 4
  • 15

What I have: a Windows 10 Pro notebook with connected WiFi and connected ethernet, both NICs (separately with each his own different default gateway) providing a full Internet connection. I'm also using VMware Workstation.

The outcome I'm looking for: use the WiFi internet connection for all my VMware machines (as default gateway) to access the internet, and the ethernet connection as default gateway for my host OS Windows.

Under different circumstance I'd probably connect one network device directly to a VM and use it for routing, but given that the VMs are Linux and my wifi network device may not work that well on this I'd rather not go that way.

  • Is there a way provided by Windows to allow for inter-network-device routing on Windows 10 Pro? (host-OS -> ethernet, VMnet8-NAT-device -> WiFi)
  • ..or is that a kind of featureset that'd require a server-edition Windows? (There would be additional network modules in Windows 10 Pro optional features.)

I don't mind using netsh or route to achieve that goal, I'm just a little lost as to how to approach this issue.

What I have: a Windows 10 Pro notebook with connected WiFi and connected ethernet, both (separately) providing a full Internet connection.

The outcome I'm looking for: use the WiFi internet connection for all my VMware machines (as default gateway) to access the internet, and the ethernet connection as default gateway for my host OS Windows.

Under different circumstance I'd probably connect one network device directly to a VM and use it for routing, but given that the VMs are Linux and my wifi network device may not work that well on this I'd rather not go that way.

  • Is there a way provided by Windows to allow for inter-network-device routing on Windows 10 Pro? (host-OS -> ethernet, VMnet8-NAT-device -> WiFi)
  • ..or is that a kind of featureset that'd require a server-edition Windows? (There would be additional network modules in Windows 10 Pro optional features.)

I don't mind using netsh or route to achieve that goal, I'm just a little lost as to how to approach this issue.

What I have: a Windows 10 Pro notebook with connected WiFi and connected ethernet, both NICs (separately with each his own different default gateway) providing a full Internet connection. I'm also using VMware Workstation.

The outcome I'm looking for: use the WiFi internet connection for all my VMware machines (as default gateway) to access the internet, and the ethernet connection as default gateway for my host OS Windows.

Under different circumstance I'd probably connect one network device directly to a VM and use it for routing, but given that the VMs are Linux and my wifi network device may not work that well on this I'd rather not go that way.

  • Is there a way provided by Windows to allow for inter-network-device routing on Windows 10 Pro? (host-OS -> ethernet, VMnet8-NAT-device -> WiFi)
  • ..or is that a kind of featureset that'd require a server-edition Windows? (There would be additional network modules in Windows 10 Pro optional features.)

I don't mind using netsh or route to achieve that goal, I'm just a little lost as to how to approach this issue.

Source Link
deucalion
  • 655
  • 4
  • 15

Use multiple network devices with Internet on Windows 10 Pro for VMware

What I have: a Windows 10 Pro notebook with connected WiFi and connected ethernet, both (separately) providing a full Internet connection.

The outcome I'm looking for: use the WiFi internet connection for all my VMware machines (as default gateway) to access the internet, and the ethernet connection as default gateway for my host OS Windows.

Under different circumstance I'd probably connect one network device directly to a VM and use it for routing, but given that the VMs are Linux and my wifi network device may not work that well on this I'd rather not go that way.

  • Is there a way provided by Windows to allow for inter-network-device routing on Windows 10 Pro? (host-OS -> ethernet, VMnet8-NAT-device -> WiFi)
  • ..or is that a kind of featureset that'd require a server-edition Windows? (There would be additional network modules in Windows 10 Pro optional features.)

I don't mind using netsh or route to achieve that goal, I'm just a little lost as to how to approach this issue.